LibGuides: ECON 490: Economics of Health Care Markets: Firm Data

Company Financials

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. SEC Filings & forms (EDGAR) This link opens in a new window
Search for electronic filings from 1994 to the Securities and Exchange Commission that are available to the public. This is an open access database.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Search for the financial information of over 14,000 active and inactive U.S. public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges
Archival data includes full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for more than 12,000 US companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Company Data - covers over 27,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Archival data includes financial information on 12,000 non-U.S. companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged from 1995 onward. Duke's subscribed modules include: U.S. Company data, International Company data, D&B Private Company data, Global Industry Reports, and Investext Snapshot analyst reports.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive fundamental and quantitative company research and analysis.
LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new window
LSEG Workspace contains market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more. LSEG Workspace replaces Thomson ONE and provides access to similar content.
Ford Library's Database Terms of Use apply to LSEG Workspace. You may retain data downloaded from LSEG Workspace for only as long as: 1) you are enrolled or employed at Duke; and 2) only as long as Duke maintains an active subscription to the product. Students may lose access at the end of the academic year in May.
ORBIS This link opens in a new window
Search financial, ownership, and basic information on over 200 million public & private companies worldwide. ORBIS provides global standard report formats as well as descriptive information, company financials, news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership and M&A data.

Bloomberg Professional
Provides current and recent historical financial data on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, futures, and foreign exchange for both international and domestic markets.
more...less...
It also provides news on worldwide financial markets and industries as well as economic data for the countries of the world. Additionally, it provides company profiles, company financial statements and filings and analysts' forecasts.

Company History

Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Search for corporate annual reports for more than 800 companies from 1884 to the present
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Search for the financial information of over 14,000 active and inactive U.S. public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges
Archival data includes full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for more than 12,000 US companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Company Data - covers over 27,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Archival data includes financial information on 12,000 non-U.S. companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged from 1995 onward. Duke's subscribed modules include: U.S. Company data, International Company data, D&B Private Company data, Global Industry Reports, and Investext Snapshot analyst reports.

Company Profiles

Hoover's Company Profiles
Through ProQuest's Business Market Research Collection (choose Document type = Company Profile). Covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies. Includes location, summary financials, top officers, top competitors, and industry analysis.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Search for full text market research reports focusing on companies and broad industry sectors: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology. Market analysis and forecasting looks at major issues and threats for each sector with analytical commentary and data.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
Search for detailed financial information and analysis of stocks and mutual funds

Executives

Hoover's Company Profiles
Through ProQuest's Business Market Research Collection (choose Document type = Company Profile). Covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies. Includes location, summary financials, top officers, top competitors, and industry analysis.

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.

Salaries/Compensation

Execucomp via WRDS Compustat
Choose "Compustat"' from the dataset list after connecting, then select 'Execucomp" under "Quarterly Updates." ExecuComp is part of the Compustat suite in WRDS.
Execucomp tracks executive compensation in S&P 1000 firms. Top executives' salary, bonus, and stock option data since 1992 is available.

Research Reports and Statistics

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search for industry market research reports and industry risk ratings on U.S. industries
Reports focus on industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Duke's subscribed content includes: Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, iExpert Summary Reports, US Specialized Super Niche Industry Reports (Current & Future), and China Industry Reports.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Search for full text market research reports focusing on companies and broad industry sectors: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology. Market analysis and forecasting looks at major issues and threats for each sector with analytical commentary and data.
MarketsandMarkets Knowledge Store This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed niche market research reports on current mega trends and industries; including but not limited to: AI, Big Data & Analytics, Blockchain, IoT, Nanotechnology, and Wearables. Covered industries include Aerospace & Defense, Automotive, Banking, Agriculture and more.
Current Duke students, faculty, and staff have search and read-only access to reports in the MarketsandMarkets Knowledge Store. Users can request up to 3 full-text reports per month for academic use only by completing a request form linked from the database information page
Mintel Academic (Reports & Trends) This link opens in a new window
Search for market research reports about European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets.
Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Search for reports related to industry financial analysis benchmarks and industry market trends
Industry Financial Reports analyze 5,500 lines of business and up to a dozen sales classes at US, state and metro levels. Industry market reports cover 9,000 business segments in market areas as small as a single zip code or as large as the US

Economic Census
Provides very detailed statistics about individual industries, which can be viewed by state; updated every 5 years. Does not cover individual companies within an industry.
Industry Economic Accounts
Detailed statistics on industries, updated more often than Economic Census data, but often without as much geographic detail.

Private Company Info and Directories

Privco (Private Company Financial Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
Search for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Note: Sign up for an account using your Duke email address.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Search for the financial information of over 14,000 active and inactive U.S. public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges
Archival data includes full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for more than 12,000 US companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Company Data - covers over 27,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Archival data includes financial information on 12,000 non-U.S. companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged from 1995 onward. Duke's subscribed modules include: U.S. Company data, International Company data, D&B Private Company data, Global Industry Reports, and Investext Snapshot analyst reports.
ORBIS This link opens in a new window
Search financial, ownership, and basic information on over 200 million public & private companies worldwide. ORBIS provides global standard report formats as well as descriptive information, company financials, news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership and M&A data.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Search for directory information (address and phone numbers) for US & Canadian businesses, residents, and healthcare providers.
TECH NOTE: if you experience "redirect" or "Invalid URL Path" errors, and are off-campus, enable a Library Resources VPN connection and browse directly to: https://www.referenceusa.com/. On campus users may browse directly to https://www.referenceusa.com/
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Develop interactive thematic maps and reports using more than 100,000 demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Includes data from the US Census, the American Community Survey (ACS), the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory, and MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset.

Mergers & Acquisitions / IPO's

S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive fundamental and quantitative company research and analysis.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. You can also use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. All current Duke University students, faculty, and staff are eligible for Academic User accounts that permit restricted amounts of data exporting and printing; faculty members at Law and Fuqua may inquire about options for a premium upgrade that allows increased downloads.

SDC Platinum
Locally installed software available only at the Ford Library. SDC Platinum is a search portal providing access to data on Global New Issues, venture capital firms, VC deals, executives, and mergers & acquisitions.
The Deal Pipeline
From TheDeal.com. News on business deals, including mergers and acquisitions and much more.