LibGuides: ECON 490: Economics of Health Care Markets: General Econ Data Sources

Broad topical coverage

ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. When you create an account, identify yourself as an affiliate of Duke University to gain free access.
more...less...
- You need to create an account while running VPN (or be on campus) in order to download data. After you create an account, you can access the service from outside of VPN.
- Detailed data in standard statistical formats (SAS, Stata, SPSS, etc.).
- Thematic collections provide convenient topical access
- A bibliography that connects ICPSR data to publications
- The American Economic Association (AEA) archives the data used in its journals at ICPSR
IPUMS
Portal for US federal and international data in several areas, including census, the US Current Population Survey, health, and education. Includes extraction and aggregation tools to gather data from public use microdata samples.
NBER Data Archive
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) provides these public use datasets on a variety of economic, policy, and social science topics, including labor and compensation, trade, health, vital statistics, education, and more. For health related topics, look under Programs, Data Category, and Topics.
more...less...
Data are typically provided in standard statistical formats such as STATA, SAS, and as CSV files.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for downloadable statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes US government empirical data sources (as well as state, IGO, and privately published sources). Recent titles often contain the full text online or a link to it. Otherwise, material is in the Perkins Public Documents collection in the ASI microfiche collection or in paper.

Resources for Economists - Data Resources
Portal to data sources from the American Economic Association (AEA).
Center for Data and Visualization Sciences Data Collections
Data collections purchased by the library's CDVS for use by the Duke community.

General US Economic Data

Data.gov
Repository of empirical datasets from participating US federal agencies.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. 1878-2012. Proquest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. 2013-present
Perkins/Bostock Ref. Desk C 3.134:
Earlier editions also online, and older paper editions in Public Documents Stacks.
Published annually from 1878 to 2012 by the Bureau of the Census, and now by ProQuest. This is a standard national data book for United States statistics. The footnotes also provide a guide to other statistical sources.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Good for long statistical summarized time series relating to the USA, mostly derived from government data, most at the national or state level. Also in paper at Perkins/Bostock Ref. Desk HA202 .H57 2006.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A wealth of empirical data on the US economy. Lots of long time series. Also links to Alfred (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data) and other related collections of Fed data and publications.

International and Non-US Data

World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for World Bank data, including World Development indicators (WDI). This is an open access database.
IMF E-Library This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics and publications from the International Monetary Fund. This is an open access database.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Find statistical information for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. This is an open access database.
UN Comtrade This link opens in a new window
Find international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country, from the United Nations Statistics Division

Note: Duke only has access to the freely available features of this resource.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and books published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) since 1998. This is an open access database.

ILOSTAT
Worldwide labor statistics from the International Labour Office.

Also:

Statistical Yearbook of the United Nations. 1948- .
Also paper: Latest Perkins/Bostock Ref. UN ST/ESA/STAT/Ser.S/ (earlier in Perkins Public Documents UN)
Demographic Yearbook. 1948- .
Also paper: Latest Perkins/Bostock Ref. UN ST/ESA/STAT/Ser.R/ (earlier in Perkins Public Documents UN)
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics supplements the yearbooks above
Also paper in Perkins Current Periodicals (earlier issues in Perkins Stacks HC57 .U66).
CIS Statistical Compendiums
A microfiche set of national statistical compendia in the basement of Bostock Library. Listings of the contents can be found in the Bibliographic Guide, shelved nearby in the microforms reference area.

ECON 490: Economics of Health Care Markets: General Econ Data Sources

General Economic Data Sources

Broad topical coverage

General US Economic Data

International and Non-US Data

Contact Us

Services for...