Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books, Journals, & More
Committee for Relieving the Sick and Distressed. Minutes of the Proceeding of the Committee. (1794)
Meeting minutes of the committee formed to combat the 1793 epidemic in Philadelphia. Includes a list of people admitted to the hospital and their outcomes as well as mortality statistics.
Valentine Seaman. An Inquiry into the Cause of the Prevalence of the Yellow Fever in New York. (1800)
Published in The Medical Repository (v.1, 2nd ed., 1800), this article describes an outbreak in New York in 1795 and includes an early attempt to trace the source of a disease using maps.
Horatio Gates Jameson. The American Domestick Medicine, or, Medical Admonisher. (1817)
A book designed for home use by the general public. Includes information on yellow fever, description of symptoms, and treatment advice.
Felix Pascalis Ouviere. A Statement on the Occurances During a Malignant Yellow Fever in the City of New-York. (1819)
A report on the 1819 outbreak of yellow fever in New York City that describes the outbreak and the city's response. Includes a map noting individual cases.
Paschal N. Strong. The Pestilence, a Punishment for Public Sins. (1822)
A sermon preached in the Middle Dutch Church and then published to mark the end of the 1822 yellow fever epidemic in New York.
Charleston City Council. Report of the Committee of the City Council of Charleston. (1859)
Report on an 1858 outbreak of yellow fever in Charleston, S.C. The library holds many other local reports on yellow fever and these often include data on the ill and dead.
W.S. Benjamin. The Great Epidemic in New Berne and Vicinity, September and October 1864. (1865)
A detailed eyewitness account of the 1864 yellow fever outbreak in New Bern, N.C. written by "one who passed through it."
Yellow Fever Institute. Bulletin. (1902-1909)
A journal published by the U.S. Marine Hospital Service providing news on outbreaks around the world and reporting on scientific research into the cause and prevention of yellow fever.
Yellow Fever: A Compilation of Various Publications: Results of the Work of Maj. Walter Reed and the Yellow Fever Commission. (1911)
A report presented to the U.S. Senate that includes summaries of yellow fever research conducted by Walter Reed and James Carroll, reports from sanitary officers in Cuba, and directions on mosquito eradication from William Gorgas.
William Gorgas. Sanitation in Panama. (1915)
This publication chronicles the efforts to eradicate yellow fever in the Panama Canal Zone and Havana, Cuba. Also includes a history of yellow fever and summaries of the research conducted by Walter Reed and others.
An online exhibit from Duke University Libraries about the 1793 yellow fever outbreak in Philadelphia featuring the Benjamin Rush papers as well as other library resources related to the disease.
Politics of Yellow Fever in Alexander Hamilton's America
An online exhibit from the National Library of Medicine about the 1793 outbreak in Philadelphia that includes digitized primary sources.
The Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1878
A selection of primary sources from the Digital Public Library of America from the 1878 outbreak that spread from New Orleans and up the Mississippi River.
U.S. Army Yellow Fever Commission
An online exhibit from the University of Virginia focusing on the efforts to demonstrate the role of mosquitoes in spreading yellow fever. The site includes digitized archival sources related to Walter Reed and the work of the commission.
Benjamin and Julia Stockton Rush Papers, 1766-1845
The letters of Benjamin Rush, a prominent Philadelphia physician, cover a wide variety of topics, but focus primarily on medical concerns, particularly the 1793 and other yellow fever epidemics in Philadelphia, as well as mental illness and its treatment, and the medical department of the Continental Army. The collection is available online.
Victor Bassett Papers, 1877-1938
Collection includes two documents related to a yellow fever outbreak in Savannah in 1888: a certificate of clearance for a ship and a health certificate for a woman.
John P. Barney Letter, 1795
John P. Barney describes New York City during the 1795 yellow fever epidemic. He discusses the impact of the disease and reports of people hiding their illness to prevent being taken to Bellevue Hospital.
Giles F. Ward Papers, 1862-1865
This small collection of letters discusses, among other topics, an outbreak of yellow fever in New Bern, N.C. during the Civil War.
James W. Pierce Papers, 1854-1879
This small collection of correspondence discusses, among many things, yellow fever outbreaks in Memphis, Chattanooga, and New Orleans in the 1870s.
Please note that there are many collections like the Giles F. Ward Papers and the James W. Pierce Papers that include mentions of yellow fever (as well as other diseases) in the correspondence between family members and friends.