LibGuides: Researching Epidemics in the Rubenstein Library: Cholera

Books, Journals, & More

Cholera Gazette. (1832)
Periodical focused on the spread and treatment of cholera. Includes reports from epidemics in the U.S. and internationally in 1832.
David Meredith Reese. A Plain and Practical Treatise on the Epidemic Cholera : as it Prevailed in the City of New York, in the Summer of 1832. (1833)
Epidemiological report on the 1832 cholera epidemic in New York City including a map of the city showing the disease's spread. Also includes information on the use of alcoholic drinks as a treatment.
Samuel A. Cartwright. The Pathology and Treatment of Cholera. (1849)
Short book intended for use by Southern planters and others without easy access to physicians containing advice for the prevention and cure of cholera.
Whitefoord Smith. National Sins: A Call to Repetence. (1849)
A sermon preached in Charleston, S.C. in honor of a national day of fasting and prayer proclaimed by President Zachary Taylor during a widespread cholera epidemic in 1849.
John Snow. On the Mode of Communication of Cholera. (1855)
British physician John Snow is credited with linking cholera infection to contaminated water and ending an 1854 outbreak in London. Snow investigated each case during the outbreak and, by mapping the cases, was able to tie the cases to a specific water pump.
U.S. Surgeon General's Office. The Cholera Epidemic of 1873 in the United States. (1875)
Government report on the 1873 cholera epidemic that spread along the Mississippi River. Includes physician reports, suggestions to prevent future outbreaks, and narratives of the spread in each state.
Edmund Charles Wendt. A Treatise on Asiatic Cholera. (1885)
Medical text, intended for physician use, providing information on cholera's spread, symptoms, and best practices for treatment as it was understood in the late 19th century.
Safety in Cholera Times: Homoeopathic Treatment Full Directions for the Cure and Prevention of the Disease. (1893)
Book providing advice on the treatment of cholera using the homeopathic theories of Samuel Hahnemann, the creator of homeopathy. Also includes advice on food and hygienic tips related to the prevention of cholera.
Frank Clemow. The Cholera Epidemic of 1892 in the Russian Empire. (1893)
Report on the 1892 cholera outbreak in Russia. Includes maps and diagrams showing the disease's spread, discussion of the government's response, and a report on a cholera conference held in Russia during the outbreak.

Online Resources

Cholera Online: A Modern Pandemic in Texts and Images
This site from the National Library of Medicine provides online access to over 500 digitized books published from 1817 to 1900 dealing with cholera pandemics from that time period. The site also includes digitized images related to cholera.

Archival Resources

Knight Family Papers, 1784-1960.
Papers of the Knight Family from Mississippi and Maryland. Correspondence between the family members discusses, among other topics, cholera and yellow fever epidemics in New York and New Orleans in 1832, 1833, 1837, and 1841.
Henry George Austin Vicars Diaries, 1853-1865.
Henry George Austin Vicars was a British Army officer stationed in India in the 1850s and 1860s. His diaries discuss a number of topics including cholera epidemics in India during the summer of 1859.
Eliza Hall Ball Gordon Boyles Papers, 1823-1881.
Letters to Eliza Boyles from family members and others serving in the Confederate Army. Included is a prescription for the treatment of cholera and comments about cholera epidemics in Kentucky, Pennsylvania, and New York during the Civil War.
William Weaver Papers, 1809-1885.
William Weaver was an ironmaster and pioneer in scientific agriculture from Virginia. Weaver's personal correspondence discusses cholera in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Maryland during 1832.
Catherine Love Poetry and Miscellaneous Scrapbook, 1832.
Scrapbook created for Catherine Love, a Scottish woman, who died from cholera in 1832. In addition to poetry and prayers, it includes an undated note documenting Love's death from cholera.
William Minter Papers, 1987-2016.
William Minter is a free-lance writer, researcher, and consultant primarily on Africa-related issues. Collection comprises Minter's personal cilippings files on general health issues in Africa, including cholera.

Researching Epidemics in the Rubenstein Library: Cholera

Books, Journals, & More

Online Resources

Archival Resources

Contact Us

Services for...