Researching Epidemics in the Rubenstein Library: Malaria

One of eight "germ stories" composed in the early 1930s by a family physician in Beardstown, IL for children.

Includes the following: Infection and immunity / by V.C. Vaughan -- The mode of infection and etiology of epidemic poliomyelitis / by S. Flexner -- Yellow fever / by W.C. Gorgas -- Municipal sanitation / by E.O. Jordan -- Malaria / by C.C. Bass.

Includes maps and illustrations focusing on epidemiology of hookworm and malaria in Indonesia and Micronesia

From the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The anti-malaria posters in this online exhibit present both modern and traditional methods of prevention and treatment of malaria that China used from the 1950s through the 1970s.

Includes a listing of all the WHO/MAL documents published by WHO between 1947 and 2000. It aims to make the Organization's historical grey literature on malaria accessible to a wider audience.

Collection comprises personal letters Llewellyn wrote to Georgia Woodley Goodwin during his appointment. He commented generally about weather conditions and the rainy season, sports gatherings of British expatriates, an outbreak of cholera and his own battles with malaria.

Physician, health officer, and librarian of the Georgia Medical Society; from Savannah. Collection contains public health information, including correspondence, health and mortality records, biographical information, genealogies, reports, and printed matter relating to the medical history and practice of medicine in Savannah.

Collection mainly comprises a memoir in two manuscript volumes (229 pgs), featuring events dating from 1899 December-1901 May; the narrative composed at a later date is not identified. The memoir has been attributed by an unknown source to G.S. Viney, although the author's name does not appear on either volume. Includes an account of all aspects of military life, describing in great detail food and rations, clothing, bathing, water availability and sources, supplies, pastimes, diseases including dysentery, jaundice, and malaria.