LibGuides: Asian & Asian-American History at Duke University: Duke Publications

From Duke's AAPI History

Cover of Yellow Pages, Volume 1, Fall 2004.

Contact the Duke University Archives

Duke University Archives

at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Visit our website!

Duke Asian & Asian-American Publications

The Bridge
Two issues of this ca. 1990 publication, celebration connections between Japan and the US, may be found in the "Duke Japan-America Club" folder in box 3 of the Student Organizations reference collection.
Sanyog: South Asia Expressions
Yellow Pages
Duke's Asian and Asian-American student community published four issues of this magazine in the mid-2000s. The issues include articles on Asian cultures (including a special issue on Lunar New Year celebrations), as well as essays by Asian and Asian-American students on how they are perceived at Duke.
Asian/Pacific Studies Institute Newsletter
Issues of the newsletter for this academic program date from 1983 to 2003.

General Duke University Publications

Publications produced by Duke University departments and organizations provide contemporary accounts of campus events, and are often a good source for gauging student, faculty, and staff reactions to campus issues. To see a list of digitized Duke publications, visit our Digital Materials research guide.

The Duke Chronicle (library catalog records)

Our student newspaper began publishing as the Trinity Chronicle on December 19, 1905.
Issues of the Duke Chronicle from 1905 to May 2000 have been fully digitized.
Beginning around 1993, articles are available online at the Duke Chronicle's website. Please note that the online archives of The Duke Chronicle does not reproduce advertisements, including classified ads.

Chanticleer (library catalog record )

The Chanticleer—our student yearbook—published its first volume in spring 1912 (covering the 1911-1912 academic year).
Access to digitized copies of the Chanticleer is provided as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.

DukEngineer (library catalog record)

DukEngineer, the student-run news magazine for the Pratt School of Engineering, published its first issue in May 1940.
Issues from 1940 to 2013 have been fully digitized.
Issues from 2014 to the present are available on Pratt's website.

The Trinity Archive and The Archive (library catalog record)

Before The Trinity Chronicle began to publish in December 1905, the school's literary magazine, the Trinity Archive, functioned as a source of campus news and thought. The Archive is still being published, but is now strictly a literary magazine.
An index to the Trinity Archive (covering November 1887 to May 1932) is available online as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
Access to digitized copies of the Trinity Archive and the Archive is provided as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection. Right now, it's tricky to discern issue dates for these digitized issues. Issues through 1924 can be accessed chronologically through HathiTrust. We're working on a better way to access later issues by date.

The Duke Alumni Register (library catalog record)

Published by Trinity College's—and later Duke University's—Alumni Association starting in April 1915, the Alumni Register contains articles on campus milestones, events, trends, and people, as well as alumni updates.
Subject and name indexes are available as card files in the Duke University Archives. Please contact University Archives staff for assistance.
Access to digitized copies of the Alumni Register (1915-1983)

Duke Magazine (library catalog record)

The successor to the Alumni Register, Duke Magazine began to publish in 1984.
Access to digitized copies of Duke Magazine from 1984-2007
Access to recent Duke Magazine articles is available on Duke Magazine's website.

Try searching the Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Duke University -- Periodicals" or "Duke University -- Students -- Periodicals" to locate additional Duke publications.