at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
The University Archives has digitized issues of the Chronicle dating from 1905 to May 2000! Below, you'll learn how to search those issues.
The full text of articles from 1994 to the present is available for searching on the Chronicle's own website. The Chronicle's website won't show ads that appeared in the newspaper, and photos accompanying articles may only be included in recent years. The University Archives does have paper copies of these issues of the Chronicle, though!
There are two ways to search the Chronicle: by date and by a full-text keyword search.
Searching the Chronicle by date: start here!
You can limit your search to the issues from a single year, decade, etc., and browse through them in chronological order.
Searching the Chronicle by keyword(s): start here!
The simple search box (purple arrow) is great for searching single keywords, fairly unique last names, etc. Or click on the "Advanced Search" link (green arrow).
The "Advanced Search" is your best option if you want to search for more complex keyword phrases, like full names or the names of student organizations, campus offices, academic programs, etc. Make sure to select "Exact phrase" from the dropdown box of search options at the right.
You can access digitized volumes of the Chanticleer from 1912 (the first one!) to 2016 here!
The Chanticleer's search feature isn't always perfect! The yearbooks often include fancy fonts, which can be hard for the scanning software to recognize. Sometimes it's necessary to page through the Chanticleer and see what you can find; there's usually a table of contents that can at least point you to a section you might want to look through.
Nearly 700 Duke publications and other printed items from Duke University Archives--including the Chanticleer and the annual course bulletins--are available through our collection on the Internet Archive. It's possible to perform keyword searches on that whole collection of publications! The example below will show you how.
**The search bar appears on the left side of the page. Make sure to select the "Text contents" option so that you search the full text of the publications.**
