LibGuides: U.S. Federal Government Publications: Archived Government Data

Specific categories (data; CRS Reports)

Data Rescue Project
"a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk."
more...less...
Focus on access to digital datasets.
Emory: Access to At-Risk Public Data
"This guide is a starting point for accessing data from the Federal Government that have been taken down."
more...less...
Focus on digital datasets. Some commercial sites that are typically available from the Duke list of Research Databases.
American University: Government Information Data Rescue
"Links to trusted repositories that have rescued U.S. government data" Also, links to archived versions of government websites.
more...less...
Includes archives of government data, archives of government websites, advocacy organizations, and alternative sources (some of these commercial sources can be accessed through Duke's list of Research Databases.)
Univ. of Virginia: Government Information Data Rescue
"A guide linking to trusted repositories that have rescued U.S. government data"
more...less...
Includes links to archives of government websites, archives of government data, alternative sources, and data rescue advocacy tools.
Census Data: NHGIS
"The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible mapping files, for years from 1790 through the present."
Economic Data: FRED
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of federal economic data time series. Also includes textual publications, for instance, from the Department of Labor.
EveryCRSReport.com
For Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from the last few decades, provides an alternative to the official Congressional CRS Report site. Goes back a few decades.
University of North Texas (UNT): Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS reports from around 1990-2018.

General guides to rescued information

Internet Archive Wayback Machine
Can search for .gov websites and .gov PDFs as categories under "Collection Search."
more...less...
See first several lines on the Collection Search Page for government resources.
Univ. of Minnesota: Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition
"This guide will point to resources that identify and track steps taken by the Trump administration and Congress to scale back or eliminate access to federal government information. It also provides links to groups performing data and website rescue."
more...less...
Links to general data and website rescue efforts as well as to initiatives on specific topics, such as climate and public health.
Government Documents Round Table of ALA : 2025 Presidential Transition
Includes links to government information rescue sites and to advocacy initiatives.
UC San Diego: Federal Government Information After the 2025 Transition
Mostly focuses on what's been removed from federal government web sites and on advocacy information, but the "External Links" page points to some locations of recue sites.
Organization of American Historians (OAH) Records at Risk Data Collection Initiative
Online form to report about government information that's been removed from public access.

Commercial (Duke-only) resources

Please see the other tabs in this guide for other government, non-profit, and commercial sources of government information, both published and unpublished. Below are a few of the broadest commercial databases that Duke subscribes to.

ProQuest Congressional
Includes congressional publications up to the present, and executive branch publications through 1952. All CRS reports back to the beginning, in 1916.
Social Explorer
Easy-to-use interface to detailed US Census Data back to 1790.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Search across primary source documents from US House and Senate publications covering 1817 (15th Congress) through 1980
American State Papers
Search for primary sources on early American history. The documents are largely Congressional, but Executive Department materials are also included
HeinOnline
Find law review articles, primary source materials, and government documents
NTIS
Search for technical reports of government-sponsored research and development by the United States and other countries

U.S. Federal Government Publications: Archived Government Data

Overview

Specific categories (data; CRS Reports)

General guides to rescued information

Commercial (Duke-only) resources

Contact Us

Services for...