Getting Started - Ancient Art and Architecture - Etruscan Emphasis

Other Art Guides

Rubenstein Riches

Duke's Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library has untold unique resources. Because of the nature of its collections, its riches are not as discernable through the Duke catalog as other material. In addition to doing a search limited to Rubenstein Library, email or query a special collections librarian for a consult on what may be of interest. RUBENSTEIN SEARCH

A Passage, Buzz Spector's artist's book (1994)
British Museum's catalog of the Elgin Marbles (1812)
William Morris' Kelmscott Press Chaucer (1896)

Beginnings - Reference Sources

Why Bother with Library Research? introductory Youtube video

Starting with Better Sources Video 1

Art Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Ancient History (CREDO) - articles on Etruscan topics

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Search for encyclopedic entries related to artists and works of art
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedia and dictionary entries on wide range of academic disciplines

Getty Research Portal - Getty Research Institute's collection of digitized art history texts.
Humanities Commons (art history section) scholarly open-source materials for the humanities NEW! ETRUSCAN RESEARCH FORUM (American Institute of Architects) https://hcommons.org/groups/etruscan-archaeology

PRINT

Encyclopedia of World Art - (hardcopy) - older, but longer essays on art topics and issue, half of every volume is plates, may in color
Pelican History of Art series, Lilly Reference Room, N5300.P38 - the standard English-language history of art. Good beginning source, bibliography for more information
Enciclopedia dell'arte antica, classica e orientale. N31 .E48 1958 Lilly reference