Article Indexes - Ancient Art and Architecture - Etruscan Emphasis

Indexes to Journals

Art History Journal Indexes

Art & Architecture Source

Most general-art index of articles in art journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Articles on Architecture, design, urban planning and industrial design.
JSTOR

Don't forget to limit to "Art & Architecture journals" and "Classical Studies"

Speciialiized

Etruscan Foundation Journal Index - Scholarly foundation for Etruscan studies. Journal peer-reviewed
Etruscan Studies Journal - FULL TEXT

JURN

Index of 3000 open-source art- and humanities journals.

DYABOLA

Please note, for Duke students to access the database, check a little box that says “activate IP access and press.” Click on the Start button.

Other Helpful Indexes

Humanties Journal Databases

Francis - Open Source. Multilingual/multidisciplinary information in the humanities (67%) and social sciences (30%); strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature.

Kubikat - Book & article catalog of four German art-history libraries, covering all languages and with an English interface) Kunsthistorisches Institut (Florence) Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte (Munich). Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte (Paris) and the Bibliotheca Hertziana (Rome).

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - (Web of Knowledge) - look up scholarship by whom was cited in the artitcle.

Electronic Journals by subject - URegensburg's list of online journals limitable by subject. Just limit to "Art History" and scan titles. Those free (or subscribed to by Duke) offer immediate access.

Specialty Bibliographies

Digital Humanities Bibliography pdf (compiled Duke University)

Google

Google Scholar - explanation - full text index of scholarly literature across a wide variety disciplines. Text, however, is limited because of copyright, consulting the library copy may be necessary.

Google Books - explanation - full text index of books and magazines scanned by Google, converted to text using optical character recognition. Like above, full-text examination is limited.

Newspapers

Current - exhibition reviews, tracing media coverage of art or artists, popular reception to art and tracing works of art.

Nexis Uni - (formerly Nexis/Lexis) newspaper articles from the late 1980s onward (depending on the newspaper). Separate search for European dailies is also excellent.

America's Newspapers - search American newspapers by region of the country or individual newspaper. Great for seeing how an art show was reviewed in rural America.

Historic - newspaper accounts can be primary sources for exhibitions, reception documentation, museum collection history, etc. Also good for patronage verification and biographical/obituary accounts. Both pdf scans of the actual column.

Times Digital Archive - the Times (London), 1785-1985

New York Times Digital Index - 1851 until three years ago.