Broadest/Most Used
- AP Images - photos from the Associated Press, historic, contemporary, etc.
- Flickr.com - largest free image collection for scholars & public EXPLANATION
- ARTstor - not just art, but historic photos, buildings, popular culture; over 100,000 images
- Insight Visual Collections - High-quality image collections (not all available to the public)
- Duke Digital Collections - Duke's Special Collections' Library scans of advertising, historic photos, manuscripts, Women's Studies
- Wikipedia Public Domain Image Resources - a constantly evolving list of image sources of varying quality, organized by topic
- Cinema Image Gallery - pictures from movies, from Wilson web
Embedded Collections (image searching in journal databases)
- NEW! - Reanimation Library - copyright-free images and visual content from picture-intenisive books.
Commercial Collections (charge for use, but browsing is free)
- Corbis - Bill Gates' image fee-based image service; selected categories can be royalty-free
- Getty Images - a stock images service (generally for commerical purposes, not associated with the Getty Museum)
Copyright-Free Images
- Creative Commons (collections) Website
Portals
Collections of Image Sites from Trustworthy Sources
American Library Association Digital Images Collections Guide - http://connect.ala.org/node/152079
The ALA's collection of stable, legal and reliable image sites.
University of Michigan - The Mother of All Art and Art History Pages - http://www.umich.edu/~motherha/
A private art portal run though the UofM's auspices. Updated and large, including material culture and not simply art.
Duke & Durham

- Duke University Archives - historic Duke photos (fun and serious)
- ONC Image Gallery - free Duke images from Duke News and Communications
- Nasher Museum of Art's official Flickr page
- Duke On Demand - videos from the Duke community
- Duke Photography - stock photographic images for sale (thumbnail; search capabilities)
Durham
- Durham Convention and Visitors' Bureau - free images of Durham and events for non-commercial use
Art
- ARTstor - not just art, but photos, and other graphic representations
- Flickr.com - largest free image collection for scholars & public MORE INFO
- Digital [Art] Collection (formerly Visual Media Collection) - Image collections developed by Duke academic departments; purchased collection (Archivision, Davis, and Saskia); Duke netid required.
- Google Art Project-Google's virtual tour of major art museums and image collections; intense close-ups of major works of art [Google Chrome requied].
- Nasher Museum of Art - collections
- Bridgeman Archive - automatically search in Oxford Art Online as well
- American Encyclopedia of Folk Art - smaller collection of medium/low-grade images, unusual collection
- Camio - art from American art museums (includes ancient). All photos take directly from objects
- Artnet.com - auction records sub-set has images (all Duke IP addresses allow searching)
- Jstor - Limit to ART JOURNALS, type title in key-word search, a separate tab appears for found images (some in color)
- Architecture - Society of Architectural Historians image site
- Insight Visual Collections - Art museum and study collections using the Insight visual browser client
- Archives of American Art Image search - AAA photos, digitized manuscripts, etc from this Smithsonian collection
- Art Museum Image Gallery - from Wilson web
NATIONAL ART INDEXES
France
RMN (French Art Museum) - massive official digital image collection from French art museums, Réunion des Musées Nationaux
Germany
Marburger Index - [this is art from any country held in Germany and Austria] - interface only in German
Art Museum websites generally have a selection of high-quality images from their individual collections. Look them up directly through museum name.
Comprehensive collections online include:
Metropolitan Museum of Art (NY) - Islamic collection
See also,
Art Index Retrospective (Wilson) - online periodical database which indexes images in art journals separately from the articles. Since art magazines are heavily illustrated with unique images, this is a major source for pictures of art.
Chris Whitcomb's Art History link - an immense art history portal with lots of links to image sites for art
Books/Prints

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
Internet Archive - includes images from the books, plans, drawings, graphics; other media as well. Scan quality may not be high resolution.
HathiTrust - Consortium of libraries to preserve printed works digitally. Limitable to "maps" or "photographs & pictorial works". Images in books still need to be searched individuall by book.
Classical Studies

- ARTstor - strong on classical images
- Flickr.com - Yahoo's free picture-sharing website. Scholars & public's images include many archaeological sites, museum objects
- Visual Media Collections at Duke (formerly MDID@Duke) - Dept of Art, Art Hist & Visual Studies study collection, Classical Collection, and commercial art collections (Archivision, Davis, and Saskia).
- Camio - art from American art museums (includes ancient). All photos take directly from objects
- Index of Christian Art - Princeton's photo initative, includes late classical religious (not just Christian) art
- Perseus Digital Library - fundamentally a classical-subject digital collection, other periods have been added
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum online (partial), complete collection, Lilly Library Locked Stacks - a corpus catalog of all known ancient pottery (in museums and private collections). Ongoing. Begun (and most complete) as a printed-book collection. Volumes out of print are scanned and available online.
- American Academy in Rome visual resources collection
Microfiche
Index of Ancient Art and Architecture [microform]. - 100,000 images microfilmed from the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut collection. Use the printed index guide (a book) to locate images. Images are scanable via Lilly's microfiche reader. Lilly Microfiche M204.
Photography

- ARTstor - click photography collections, then search
- Flickr.com - largest free image collection for scholars & public MORE INFO
- George Eastman House- largest photography collection in the United States
-
Visual Media Collections at Duke (formerly MDID@Duke) - Image collections developed by Duke academic departments including Art, Art History & Visual Studies; Classical Studies; Information Science + Information Studies: Nasher Museum of Art; Music; Theater; the School of Nursing (only SoN); and the Visualization Technology Group; as well as commercially licensed art and architecture collections.
-
Life Magzine Photo Archive - the archive of the magazines of Time/Life (not necessarily the photos that appeared in the magazine). Strong subject search [a near-complete run of Life magazine is at Lilly Library]
-
Marburger Index - art held in German collections, good for classical sculpture [click the British flage for English]
-
NEW! Cinema Image Gallery - pictures from movies, from Wilson web
Science

General
- Science.gov Image site - Images from 3 giant government repository: NBII (National Biological Information Infrastructure), NOAA and NASA. All copyright free.
- Illumina - Images, illustrations models and graphs within scientific literature
- TASI - Comprehensive image portal for scientific images
- Bridgeman History of Science Image
Biology
- Biology Image Library- Images from BioMed Central's journalsand biomedical research
Medical
- CINAHL Plus - Nursing and Allied Health literature - click the 'visual search' tab under the search boxes to find images
- Duke Medical Center Images page - Links from the Med Center Library's portal
Medical- History
- Historical images in medicine - Duke Medical Center Library's Historical Images in Medicine
- Images from the History of Medicine - National Library of Medicine Images
- National and International collection of medical image databases, maintained by Duke Medical Center History of Medicine collection.
History

Images Collections at Duke
Duke Digital Collections - Advertising, historic photos, manuscripts, Women's Studies
Manuscripts & Early Printed
Archive.org - The "texts" section contains many image included in early printed books.
Medieval - CMRS
Manuscriptorium: European Digital Library of Written Cultural Heritage - website - digital historic books (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents). 5 million digital images.
Medieval
Les Enlumiures France - medieval manuscript full-page 3D interactive
History of Science - see Science section, below
Holocaust
Shoah Foundation Images - Survivors and other witnesses to the Holocaust
American
Harper's Weekly - scans of original line drawings from the magazine (great for Civil War)
Picturing U.S. History - Online Resource for Teaching with Visual Evidence, maintained by the American Social History Project.
Britain/Ireland
Institute for British and Irish Studies (USC) IBIS
Posters
Soviet-era posters - a collection on flickr
Religious

Christian
Art in the Christian Tradition - Vanderbilt University's collection of historic an contemporary relgious art and symbolism. A sophisticated tool employing the ICONCLASS hierarchy.
Index of Christian Art - Princeton's photo initative, includes late classical religious (not just Christian) art
Islamic
Political/Geographic
Flickr.com - Flickr is truely international. It's good for searching in all subjects, but particularly spectacular for geographic regions. Flickr accepts searches in all lanugages (not just Western languages). One way, for example, to search for images of music-making for South Asia would be: संगीत; for China, 音楽.
The Interntational and Area Studies Librarians at Duke maintain excellent image portals for their respective areas:
China (Luo Zhou)
Japan (Kristina Troost)
also, Images of Asia - collected internet images organized by country. Includes South Asia and Southest Asia
Slavic, Eurasia and Eastern Europe (Erik Zitser)
Latin America and Caribbean (Holly Ackerman)
Middle East (Christof Galli)
Images Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |










Loading...
