Skip to main content

Shelter: Making Ourselves at Home in a Changing World: Women's Studies

Library guide for the Duke University course on Shelter, Spring 2014 (ARTS&SCI 390/ECON 390/PUBPOL 290/ENVIRON 390/CULANTH 290/SOCIOL 390)

Find Articles

Women’s Studies is an interdisciplinary course of study.  Other subject areas within the interpretive social sciences, arts, and humanities may also have useful literature to offer.

Guides for other subject areas and a list of librarians associated with these can be found on our Research by Subject page.

  • GenderWatch
    Full-text collection of over 140 international journals devoted to women's and gender studies.
  • LGBT Life with full text
    Indexes and provides full text of newspapers, academic journals, newsletters and magazines about gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues.

Databases of Primary Resources

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
A database of women's diaries and letters who lived in the British Isles or Ireland.

Evans Digital Edition
A definitive resource for research on 17th and 18th century American history and life.

Everyday Life and Women in America, c. 1800-1920
Includes full text and images of materials addressing 19th and early 20th century social and gender issues.

Godey's Lady's Book
Provides the full text from a complete run of Godey's Lady's Book, a 19th century magazine designed to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.

In the First Person
Indexes letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Contains over 2,000 letters and diaries from North American women from colonial times to the 1950s. .

Primary Source Microfilm’s Online Guides
A collection of guides to the microfilm sets published by Primary Source Microfilm.

Primary sources in US history
Finding aids to 127 microform collections.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Examines United States women's social movements from colonial times to present through primary source documents.

Women Writers Online
Provides the full text of more than 200 English-language texts written by women between 1526 and 1827.

Librarian for Women's Studies

Danette Pachtner's picture
Danette Pachtner
Contact:
My location:
Lilly Library
Room 108
East Campus
Email me:
danettep@duke.edu
Call me:
919.660.5886
My areas:
Film, Video & Digital Media; Women's Studies; Southgate Residence Hall