Skip to Main Content
Shelter: Making Ourselves at Home in a Changing World
Search this Guide
Shelter: Making Ourselves at Home in a Changing World: Economics
Library guide for the Duke University course on Shelter, Spring 2014 (ARTS&SCI 390/ECON 390/PUBPOL 290/ENVIRON 390/CULANTH 290/SOCIOL 390)
Find Articles, Books, and More
African American Studies
Literature in English
Slavic & Eurasian Studies
Online Reference Works
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
A Dictionary of Economics
By John Black, from Oxford University Press. Paper at Perkins Ref. HB61 .B554 2009
Routledge Dictionary of Economics
21st Century Economics: A Reference Handbook
Index of academic literature back to the 19th century (articles, books, working papers, conference papers, and reports).
Full text online of all issues of important core journals (with a 3-5 year lag) back to 19th century, including many in economics, finance, statistics, and business.
Journal of Economic Literature (JEL)
Besides articles, includes extensive book reviews, an annotated list of new books, table of contents of current periodicals, and selected abstracts of articles.
Indexes public policy literature back to 1915.
Web of Science
Good for following citations (material cited by an author, plus later articles that cite that work).
Set preferences (icon in upper right) to Duke University Libraries if you're off campus
Business and economic literature index, including many trade publications as well as academic literature. From ProQuest.
Business Source Complete
Business and economic literature index, including many trade publications as well as academic literature. From EBSCO.
Recommended Databases for Economics
Longer list of online indexes, collections, and data sources.
Key Data Sources
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Includes FRED, with 40,000 economic time series; ALFRED,with archival (unrevised) time series; FRASER, with historical US federal govt. economic publications; and several other components. From the St. Louis Fed.
Data (The World Bank)
Empirical data and development-related indexes from the World Bank.
Contains International Financial Statistics (IFS) and other IMF databases and books.
Includes major UN databases and those of several related IGO's.
Detailed commodity-level trade data from the UN Statistics Division.
OECD iLibrary (includes IEA data)
Full text of OECD publications since 1998, plus key statistical databases such as ITCS and those from the IEA.
Wide variety of socioeconomic datasets from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Indexes government, IGO, and privately published sources of empirical data. Some full text online, or on microfiche in Perkins Public Documents collection. From ProQuest.
Librarian for Economics
233C Perkins Library
Profile & Guides
US Federal Government Publications
Related Research Guides
Company and Industry Research
Economic Data, US
Organizations and Global Competitiveness (SOC 342D)
Apr 29, 2020 3:26 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Harmful Language Statement
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries