Skip to main content

Shelter: Making Ourselves at Home in a Changing World: Video

Library guide for the Duke University course on Shelter, Spring 2014 (ARTS&SCI 390/ECON 390/PUBPOL 290/ENVIRON 390/CULANTH 290/SOCIOL 390)

Fair Housing

Streaming Video Databases

Watch streaming video titles anywhere, anytime--authenticate with your netid and password

  • Academic video online
    Cross-search these streaming video databases: American History in Video, Dance in Video, Ethnographic Video, Filmakers Library, March of Time and Theatre in Video.
  • American history in video
    Analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
  • Ethnographic video online
    A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior, features many films from Documentary Educational Resources.
  • Filmakers Library online
    View documentaries on race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
  • Films on demand academic collection
    A comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor. More than 7500 videos cover a wide range of topics organized into multiple broad subjects.
  • MEF Digital
    Excellent titles from Media Education Foundation that inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.
  • Naxos video library
    Watch over 300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others.
  • NC Live video collection
    View these high quality documentary and educational video programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation.

Articles and Databases

Find articles and book chapters in these online indexes/databases

Some of the best film studies databases, available to Duke users via the Library's subscriptions, include:

Internet Resources

Film reference sites

To look up titles and reference information, as well as news and reviews, try these helpful sites.

Reviews and criticism

To find reviews and film criticism, check out these sites.

Librarian for Film, Video and Digital Media

Danette Pachtner
Contact Info
danette.p@duke.edu
919-660-5886
Lilly Library, Room 108
Send Email