Skip to Main Content

Shelter: Making Ourselves at Home in a Changing World: Sociology

Library guide for the Duke University course on Shelter, Spring 2014 (ARTS&SCI 390/ECON 390/PUBPOL 290/ENVIRON 390/CULANTH 290/SOCIOL 390)

Inequality

Dictionaries

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology

Key Sociology Journals

American Journal of Sociology

American Sociological Review

British Journal of Sociology

Annual Review of Sociology

Global Networks

Find Articles

SocINDEX with Fulltext
Offers fulltext articles and comprehensive coverage of sociology.

Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology.

PAIS International
Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy.

Web of Science
Provides access to Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present).

Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.

EconLit
Indexes articles in economics, including economic history, economic theory, microeconomics, macroeconomics, and finance.

Introductions to Sociology

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Provides overviews of the key theories, concepts and research fronts in sociology.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Maps the history, current theory and methodology of the social and behavioral sciences.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Gives strong emphasis to the impact of critical theory, cultural studies, and the mathematicization of empirical research on the social sciences.

Sociology
Provides an introduction to the theories and debates within sociology.

Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

Duke University Libraries
233 Perkins Library
Email: linda.daniel@duke.edu
Phone: 919-660-5927

Subjects: Cultural Anthropology, Native American Studies, Social Sciences, Sports