Black History at Duke University

The bulk of the photographs available at the Duke University Archives are housed in two collections:

• University Archives Photograph Collection, 1861-ongoing

• University Archives Photographic Negative Collection, 1855-1995

Both collections contain photographs of African-American faculty, staff, and students; African-American student organizations; and campus events, like Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s 1964 visit or the 1969 Allen Building Takeover.

These collections may be requested and reviewed in our reading room, where scanning equipment is available for your use at no charge. Additional fee-based reproduction services are also offered.

Many of the photographs from these two collections have been digitized and made available online as part of our Flickr photostream.

• These may be downloaded directly from Flickr for private research, study, and teaching (with credit given to the "Duke University Archives").
• Please contact us to request permission for other uses of these materials, such as in commercial products or for broadcast or publication.

The Duke University Archives also holds several collections of Duke Athletics-related photographs. Please see our Duke Athletics LibGuide for additional information about these collections.

The University Archives collections listed below are our main sources for audio, film, and video recordings produced by university- and student-run media organizations.

• Radio TV Services Records, ca. 1937-1988

• Media Services Audio and Video Records, 1963-ongoing

• WDBS Collection, 1949-1983

• Cable 13 Videotapes, 1976-1982

These recordings document:

• major campus events, including recordings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s 1964 address; Stokeley Carmichael's 1967 address; and news bulletins, event recordings, and interviews from the 1968 Silent Vigil and the 1969 Allen Building Takeover.
• events or performances by student groups, including Dance Black.
• press conferences, speaking engagements, and interviews with campus administrators and faculty, including John Hope Franklin and Rev. William Turner.
• promotional pieces about Duke University.

Use copies of these recordings may have to be prepared before they may be viewed or listened to; please contact the Duke University Archives staff to inquire about using these recordings.

To locate additional audio and video recordings—including oral history interviews and audio or film recordings of sports events—try searching the Duke University Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Sound Recordings" or "Video Recordings."