Black History at Duke University

This guide is designed to help researchers begin their research on Black students, faculty, and staff at Duke using the collections of the Duke University Archives. It is not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography, though University Archives staff periodically review and update it as our collections expand.

The information in this guide is separated into six sections. Please use the tabs at the left to navigate to each section.

• Secondary Sources: These items include research papers, theses and books by Duke students as well as outside researchers on Black history at Duke and related issues.
• Archival Collections: These collections were received from University departments, faculty, alumni, and organizations, and contain primary sources, like correspondence, meeting minutes, scrapbooks, and subject files.
• Key Reports & Studies: These titles include reports on race-related campus issues. They may be found in archival collections, or may exist as stand-alone items, available through a catalog search.
• Campus Publications: These titles include publications produced by Black students at Duke, as well as Duke publications of a more general nature.
• Photographs, Audio Recordings, & Film / Video
• Related Websites & Online Resources

After reviewing this guide, please contact a University Archives staff member if you need further assistance in locating additional resources.

The Duke University Archives, part of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, is the official repository for the historical records of Duke University. Visit our website to learn more about us!

The materials described in this guide may be used in the Rubenstein Library's reading room.

Please note that university administrative records are restricted for 25 years, except with written permission from the office that created the records. Board of Trustees records are restricted for 50 years, except with written permission from the Board of Trustees. Find more information about University Archives access policies.

Helpful Links:

• Reading Room hours
• Directions to the Rubenstein Library reading room
• Register as a Rubenstein Library patron and request materials
• Ordering reproductions of Rubenstein Library materials
• How to cite Rubenstein Library materials

Clicking on these subject headings will search the entire Duke Libraries catalog.

To narrow the list of results down to materials located in the Duke University Archives, select "University Archives" under the Location menu on the lefthand side of the page.​

• Duke University--Students.
• African American college students.
• African Americans -- Education (Higher).