Skip to main content

Black History at Duke University

A guide to University Archives materials documenting the experiences and impact of African American students, employees, faculty, and organizations of Duke University. Created by Jessica Wood, Ph.D., 2011-2012 University Archives King Intern.

African American History at Duke University

George Frank Hall, 1946. Wall was one of the longest-serving Duke employees in the University's history.

George Frank Wall, 1946. Wall was one of the longest-serving Duke employees in the University's history.

Visit our Flickr site for more historical photos of Duke University!

Contact the Duke University Archives

Academic Blue Devil

Duke University Archives

at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Visit our website!

Ask Us a Question!

Primary Sources in Duke University Archives

An Archival Collection includes primary source documents, such as correspondence, news clippings, photographs, sound, or video recordings.

Hovering on the "Archival Collections" tab above will display five topical areas of African American history at Duke. Click on one of these for a list of collections with materials related to that topic.

Each of the collections listed is linked to a finding aid.  A finding aid provides an inventory for each collection: the documents and other items that make up the collection are described topically and by their location in a particular box or folder. The date range that appears after the collection's title indicates the chronological span of the materials in the collection.