Skip to main content

PUBPOL 704: MIDP Master's Projects: Countries

International Development seminar; Profs. Fernholz, Lethem, and Mirovitskaya

How to Use this Guide

This guide suggests resources--reference books, library databases, search engines and web links--to use for researching your Master's Projects. Use this table of contents or click on each tab to see each page.

Country Analysis

OECD Economic Surveys (by country)
Search the Duke catalog (keyword: oecd economic surveys and [country]) for individual call numbers.
Also available online to Duke users through OECD iLibrary
About 18 countries are covered each year.

Political Handbook of the World
Perkins Reference Desk JF37 .P6 or through CQ Press Electronic Library 
Contains sections on every country in the world and more than 100 intergovernmental organizations, with extensive political background, information on economics and social movements, the history and leadership of political parties, and current issues of domestic and international importance.

Global Insight (also called IHS Connect)
Includes country reports and country risk ratings; Click 'Geography' at the top and choose Country Profile.

EIU (Economist) Reports
Selected Country Reports and other EIU coverage may be found in ProQuest ('click to connect' then 'browse by location'), Political Science Complete, and Business Source Complete (6 month embargo). 

Stratfor
Provides current intelligence and analysis of geopolitics for businesses and government agencies' use in strategic decision-making

OxResearch (Oxford Analytica)
Provides political and economic analysis from the transition of the Cold War (1984) to present.

World Bank Data Catalog 
Now free, including World Development Indicators, Global Financial Development, Africa Development Indicators, and more.
More than 900 development indicators, with time series for over 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to date, where data are available.  Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resource, and environmental indicators.  Allows comparison between countries, and the option to export data to Excel.
The annual print publication World Development Indicators contains thematic overviews as well as tabular data (latest year in Perkins/Bostock Ref. HC59 .W62, earlier years on Perkins shelves).

World Bank e-atlas of Global Development
Maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress. Most indicators cover several decades.

More sources from my International & Transnational Relations guide, Country Background tab