Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Use this Guide
This guide suggests resources--reference books, library databases, search engines and web links--to use for researching your Master's Projects. Use this table of contents or click on each tab to see each page.
for background of the problem or issue
research strategies for finding the best sources and using your time efficiently
for background and socioeconomic data on specific countries
IGOs & NGOs
for identifying intergovernmental organizations, non-governmental organizations, and their publications and documents
for searching US and international newspapers efficiently
A search engine for identifying think tank publications with research and analysis on your issue
Suggested Library Databases for Finding Journal Articles
- Political Science Complete (EBSCO)
- Indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Covers law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
- ProQuest Political Science
- Covers political science and international relations, including comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy, with full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Some overlap with PS Complete; also some unique content.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
- Journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, and books on international affairs
- Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.
See also these databases--click 'more details' and read the summary to see what each one covers:
Browse Databases by Subject from Research Databases on the Libraries page; choose Social Sciences, then sub-categories.
How to use GetIt@Duke to get the full text of an article (2 minute video tutorial)
Duke Libraries Portal
The Duke University Libraries site library.duke.edu is your portal to all our services and resources.
Search & Find to access books, e-journals, databases that index hundreds of journals each, and more.
The default search 'Books and more' is for our catalog.
Using the Libraries most useful links:
Our Web Site Search Use this to explore library services and departments; see the results on the right under 'Our Website.'
'How to' videos--brief tutorials on using library services
Writing and Citing
Prof. Mirovitskaya's document links to guidelines for writing papers, citing sources, and avoiding plagiarism.
Research Tools on this guide under Strategies