| South Asia Union Catalogue University of Chicago |
IndCat Online Union Catalogue of Indian Universities |
India Office Records and Private Papers British Library |
National Library Ministry of Culture, Government of India |
National Archives of India New Delhi |
| National Archives of India Easy Archive Tip (Downloadable Word document) |
Asiatic Society (India) |
Asiatic Society Easy Archive Tip (Downloadable Word document) |
Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland | Tamil Nadu Archives (Formerly, "Madras Record Office") |
| Tamil Nadu State Archives Easy Archive Tip (Downloadable Word document) |
West Bengal State Archives | West Bengal State Archives Easy Archive Tip (Downloadable Word document) |
Archives Made Easy India |
A2A Access to Archives > 2,500 institutions (UK) |
| Mundus: Gateway to missionary collections in the United Kingdom (UK) |
Private Papers: India Office Select Materials The British Library (UK) |
Search across all of the bibliographic databases Digital South Asia Library (DSAL) |
UKIRA: UK Information Resources on Asia (UK) |
National Art Library Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) (UK) |
| Wellcome Library Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine (UK) |
Published catalogues of major oriental manuscript collections Wellcome Library (UK) |
Institute of Commonwealth Studies (UK) |
South Asia through Official Eyes South Asian Official Publications Bodleian Library, Oxford (UK) |
National Bibliography of Indian Literature 1901-1953 |
| International union list of South Asian newspapers and gazettes | National Register of Archives Manuscripts & historical records (UK) |
Copac National, Academic, & Specialist Library Catalogue (UK) |
Inventory of the South Asian Pamphlets Collection, 1920-2005 Duke |
South Asia: Primary Sources & Texts |
| "In India, History Literally Rots Away" 4-part series on appalling condition of India’s archives New York Times |
"Repairing the Damage at India’s National Archives" Part 2 New York Times |
"India’s Archives: How Did Things Get This Bad?" Part 3 New York Times |
"The Parsis, Once India’s Curators, Now Shrug as History Rots" Part 4 New York Times |
Archives Made Easy India |
| TANAP Verenigde Oost-Indische Compagnie (VOC) Dutch East India Company Archives |
Archives Hub > 300 institutions (UK) |
The Archives of Economic Life in South Asia Joint Centre for History and Economics University of Cambridge (UK) |
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) "With an initial emphasis on colonial-era materials from South Asia, a carefully curated collection of resources will fill gaps in available online collections." |
Last updated:
April 3, 2020
Next update:
May 4, 2020
