Zines at the Sallie Bingham Center

Items held by Duke University are linked to the catalog record.

• Angel, Jen, ed. The Zine Yearbook. Vols 1- 8. 1996-2003.
• Crabb, Cindy. Doris: An Anthology, 1991-2001. Portland, OR: Microcosm Publishing, 2005.
• Friedman, R. Seth, ed. The Factsheet Five Zine Reader. New York: Three Rivers Press, 1997.
• Gore, Ariel. The Essential Hip Mama: Writing from the Cutting Edge of Parenting. Emeryville, CA: Seal Press, 2004.
• Green, Karen and Tristan Taormino, eds. A Girl’s Guide to Taking Over the World. New York: St. Martin’s Griffin, 1997.
• Martens, China. FutureGeneration: The Zine-Book for Subculture Parents, Kids, Friends and Others. Baltimore: Atomic Book Company, 2007.
• Miya-Jervis, Lisa and Andi Zeisler, eds. BITCHfest: Ten Years of Cultural Criticism from the Pages of Bitch Magazine. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2006.
• Karp, Marcelle and Debbie Stoller, eds. The Bust Guide to the New Girl Order. New York: Penguin Books, 1999.
• Rowe, Chip, ed. The Book of Zines: Readings from the Fringe. New York: Henry Holt & Co., 1997.
• Vale, V. Zines! Vols. 1 and 2. San Francisco: Re/Search Publications, 1996.
• Wann, Marilyn. Fat! So? Because You Don’t Have to Apologize for Your Size!  Berkeley, CA: Ten Speed Press, 1998.
• Wawrzyniak, Martynka, ed. The Newstand. New York: Skira, 2016. 

• Barnard College Zine Collection New York City, NY 
• Civic Media Center Zine Library Gainesville, FL  
• Denver Zine Library Denver, CO  
• DePaul University Libraries Zine Collection Chicago, IL 
• Fales Library Riot Grrrl Collection New York University, New York, NY
• Independent Publishing Resource Center Portland, OR  
• Minnesota Community and Technical College Minneapolis, MN  
• New York Public Library New York, NY
• New York State Library (Factsheet Five collection) Albany, NY
• Queer Zine Archive Project Milwaukee, WI
• Richard Hugo House Zine Archive & Publishing Project (ZAPP) Seattle, WA
• Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture at Duke University Durham, NC
• Salt Lake City Public Library Salt Lake City, UT
• San Diego State University West Coast Zine Collection San Diego, CA    
• San Francisco Public Library San Francisco, CA
• Tulane University Newcomb College Center for Research on Women New Orleans, LA  
• University of Iowa Libraries Zine and Amateur Press Collections Iowa City, IA
• University of Michigan Labadie Collection Ann Arbor, MI  
• Urbana-Champaign Independent Media Center Urbana, IL
• Zineopolis University of Portsmouth, UK

Zines cross various genres and topics. For this reason, there are many subject headings and topics that are potentially useful when searching for information about zines. A list of possible subject headings and search terms is included below. The headings themselves link to searches in the Duke Libraries' catalog.

Comic books, strips, etc.

Fan magazines

Fan magazines -- Periodicals

Fanzines

Feminism -- United States

Riot grrrl movement

Self-publishing

Underground press publications -- United States

Women -- Comic books, strips, etc.

Women's periodicals, American

Young women -- United States -- Social life and customs

Zines

Zines -- United States -- Periodicals

Items held by Duke University are linked to the catalog record.

• Don't Need You. [DVD] Directed by Kerri Koch. Urban Cowgirl Productions, 2006.
  Tells the story of the origins of Riot Grrrl in the American independent music scene of the 1990s, and how this feminist movement evolved into a revolutionary underground network of education and self-awareness through music, writing, activism, and women-friendly community. The film features one-on-one interviews interspersed with rare, archival materials, including original Riot Grrrl fanzines, flyers, and photographs, as well as seldom seen footage from pioneering Riot Grrrl bands like Bikini Kill, Heavens to Betsy, and Bratmobile.
• Grrlyshow. [videocassette] Directed by Kara Herold. Women Make Movies, 2001.
  A documentary about girl-zines and girl-zine makers.
• Zined!: A Documentary. [videocassette] Directed by Mark Moscato. Baby Marvin Productions, 1997.