Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Sexuality Studies
Sexuality studies is an emerging, rapidly-growing field of scholarship. The sources listed in this guide offer an entry point to resources that focus primarily on various aspects of sexuality studies, including Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) studies, queer theory, human sexuality, and sex work. However, because this is an interdisciplinary area of research, relevant materials can be found in a wide range of reference sources.
Core Sexuality Studies Databases
Full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's studies and gender issues.
LGBT Life (Full Text)
Indexes and provides full text of newspapers, academic journals, newsletters and magazines for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues.
Women's Studies International
Indexes feminist research literature in a wide range of subject areas. Includes some core GLBT journals.
Many disciplines include in depth sexuality studies scholarly research articles within the context of the subject area. Utilize the database keyword & subject searches to find articles on your topic.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for magazine and newspaper articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990
The Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science
Includes humanities, social sciences, and science resources.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
Librarian for Sexuality Studies