LibGuides: Sexuality Studies: Books, Journals & Films

Subject Headings

The following list uses subject headings to find materials in the Duke Library Catalog:

General Sexuality Headings:
Sexual Behavior
Sexual Orientation
Sexuality

LGBT Headings:
Bisexuality
Bisexuals
Gay and Lesbian Studies
Gay Liberation Movement
Homophobia
Homosexuality
Lesbianism
Lesbians
Queer
Queer Theory
Transgenderism
Transgender People
Transexualism
Transexuals
Transvestism
Transvestites

Sex Work Headings:
Human Trafficking
Prostitution
Sex Tourism
Sex-Oriented Businesses
Sex Work (keyword search)

Periodicals & Journals

Because there are many different keywords and search terms used to describe materials related to sexuality studies, it is difficult to create a search that will capture all journals addressing the various facets of this interdisciplinary field. These links are designed as starting points for your research.

Gay Periodicals
This link brings up print and electronic journals based on the subject search "homosexual."
Lesbian Periodicals
This link brings up print and electronic journals with the keyword "lesbian."
Sexuality Studies Periodicals
This link brings up a list of print and electronic journals based on a keyword search for "sexuality studies."
Visual Culture and Gender
International, peer reviewed, open/free access journal with the purpose of encouraging and promoting an understanding of how visual culture constructs gender in context with representations of race, age, sexuality, social units, (dis)ability, and social class and to promote international dialogue about visual culture and gender.

Popular Periodicals

Advocate (electronic)
Advocate (print)
Curve: the lesbian magazine (print and electronic)
Girlfriends : the magazine of Lesbian enjoyment (print and electronic)
Out magazine (electronic)
Out magazine (print)
$pread Magazine
$pread aims to destigmatize sex work by providing a forum for the diverse voices of individuals working in the sex industry. Also available online.

Periodicals in Special Collections

This list highlights collections of periodicals from the 1960s through the present, primarily from 1960s-1990s. These materials are housed in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library and must be used in the reading room. Some may be in offsite storage, so please request them in advance of your visit.

Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Periodicals Collection
Includes newsletters documenting activities of feminist, gay/lesbian, and other activist groups throughout the Southeast. This collection also includes rare and ephemeral women's and lesbian journals from the early women's movement.
Women's and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Movements (LGBT) Periodicals Collection, 1968-2005
Comprises individual issues of periodicals produced by or reporting on organizations involved in the women's rights and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender rights movements of the late 20th century and early 21st century.
Zines
Use the searchable database to find zines by women about sexuality and sexual identities. We have also made an effort to collect zines by transgender authors. Most published from 1990 through 2000s.

Films on Sexuality

LGBT Film @ Lilly Library
These films are available for checkout at Lilly Library on East Campus
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online is an online streaming video collection that has a section on Gender & Sexuality. (Available for Duke affiliates only.)
DVDs @ the Center for Sexuality and Gender Diversity
The LGBTQ Library & DVD Collection contains more than 200 DVD's that can be checked out with a Duke ID. A catalog of the entire book and DVD collection is available online.
Documentaries on Sexuality
This search brings up a list of documentary films that address some aspect of sexuality.

Sexuality Studies: Books, Journals & Films

Subject Headings

Periodicals & Journals

Popular Periodicals

Periodicals in Special Collections

Films on Sexuality

Contact Us

Services for...