Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of sex
This volume gathers psychiatric, psychological, educational, legal, and other experts to provide a practical, straightforward reference on sexuality for adolescents and adults.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender [electronic resource]
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
Greenwood encyclopedia of love, courtship, & sexuality through history
Each of the six volumes of this reference focuses on a different era: the ancient world, Middle Ages, Early Modern era, colonial and revolutionary age, 19th century, and the modern era.
Human sexuality : an encyclopedia
The wide range of subjects in this comprehensive collection of articles includes adolescent sexuality, AIDS, birth control and contraception, brothels, child abuse and sexual exploitation, and religion.
International encyclopedia of sexuality
This volume covers issues of sexuality by country with all of the entries closely follow a 14-point outline covering such topics as gender roles, religious and ethnic factors, autoerotic and interpersonal behaviors, contraception and abortion, sexually transmitted diseases, and other pertinent topics. Also available online
Research Guides & Bibliographies
Sexuality Studies Websites
International Resource Network
Based at the Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies (CLAGS) at the City University of New York (CUNY) Graduate Center, the IRN is a global community of researchers, activists, artists and teachers sharing knowledge about diverse sexualities.
Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies
As the first university-based LGBT research center in the United States, CLAGS nurtures cutting-edge scholarship; organizes colloquia for examining and affirming LGBT lives; and fosters network-building among academics, artists, activists, policy makers, and community members.
Provides an index of online resources integrated with textual resources in the fields of LGBTQ studies, gender studies, and queer theory.
Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States (SIECUS)
Provides information about sexuality and sexual and reproductive health. Also includes statistics and information on Public Policies regarding sexuality and sexual and reproductive health and both nationally and internationally.
The Guttmacher Institute is a respected organization that works to advance sexual and reproductive health through research, policy analysis and public education. This website breaks down statistics about the sexual behavior of adolescents.