Lesbian, Bisexual, and Activist Women's CollectionsGay Male and Transgender CollectionsOrganizational RecordsUniversity Archives
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "LGBT Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LGBT Studies   Tags: lgbt, sexuality, sexuality_studies  

Introductory guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) resources at Duke Libraries
Last Updated: Jan 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/lgbtstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LGBT Introduction

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) studies is an emerging, rapidly-growing field of scholarship.  The sources listed in this guide offer an entry point to resources that focus primarily on various aspects of LGBT studies. However, because this is an interdisciplinary area of research, relevant materials can be found in a wide range of reference sources which do not have a LGBT studies focus.

LGBT Campus Life @ Duke

Love=Love

Duke University has an active queer community and many resources and social opportunities for those who identify as LGBT as well as allies.

Core LGBT Databases

  • LGBT Life w/ Full Text
    Indexes and provides full text of newspapers, academic journals, newsletters and magazines for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues.
  • GenderWatch
    Full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's studies and gender issues.
  • Women's Studies International
    Indexes feminist research literature in a wide range of subject areas. Includes some core GLBT journals.

Subject Databases

Many disciplines include in depth LGBT scholarly research articles within the context of the subject area. Utilize the database keyword & subject searches to find articles on LGBT themes.

  • ERIC
    ERIC is a vast database of journal and non-journal education literature available since 1966.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    A subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics
  • PsycINFO
    This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Kelly Wooten
Contact Info
Reference Librarian,
Sallie Bingham Center for
Women's History and Culture
Librarian for Sexuality Studies

Phone: 919.660.5967
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip