LGBT Studies: Gay Male and Transgender Collections

Gay rights activist and the first openly gay candidate for public office in North Carolina. Papers range from 1983-1985.

In the 1950s, Corley made a name for himself as a "physique artist," as he contributed drawings of scantily clad men to fitness magazines--a genre that has been identified by cultural historians as early homoerotica. Between 1966 and 1971, he published twenty-two paperback novels of gay male "pulp fiction."

Playwright and fiction writer originally from Rocky Mount, NC. Grimsley's novel Dream Boy received the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Book Award for Literature (Stonewall Book Award),and his fantasy novel Kirith Kirin, won the Lambda Literary Award, for best gay-themed science fiction or fantasy for the year 2000. Papers range from 1970-2002.

John Howard is a scholar of queer history, educator, and administrator who was the first externally hired full-time director of the Duke LGBTQ student center (The Center for Sexual and Gender Diversity)..

Charlotte, NC-based LGBT rights activist. In 1993, OutCharlotte named a GLBT community service award the "Don King Award." Collection primarily document's King's writing, along with his other work as an activist.

Activist, community organizer, and theater director. Executive director of Charlotte's Lesbian and Gay Community Center. He also founded One Voice, a gay, lesbian and gay-affirmative chorus in Charlotte, NC, and the OutCharlotte festival. Papers range from 1975-2004.

Educator, gay rights activist, and author of many works on sexuality, identity, and sex education, and the history of homosexuality and the gay rights movement in the United States. Bulk 1950-2004.

Collection predominantly contains World War II-era correspondence between lovers/partners John Zeigler and Edwin Peacock and their close friend George Scheirer.

Documentary photographer based in New York City. Collection contains five portfolios of Allen's work, including prints that document aspects of human sexuality and gender identity, from the works Transformations: Crossdressers and Those Who Love Them; The Woman Who Lives Inside: Portraits of Men as Women; and The Gender Frontier.

Author Dawn Langley Simmons had one of the first sex-reassignment surgeries in the United States. She was brought up as Gordon Langley Hall in England, and adopted by the actress Margaret Rutherford. After surgery she became Dawn Pepita Langley Hall, then became Dawn Langley Simmons after her marriage to John Paul Simmons.

Mama Galore was a group of East Coast Drag show performers that appeared in New York City, Philadelphia, North and South Carolina, and Florida, among other locales.

The Bingham Center's zine collection contains titles by transgender authors and about trans issues across several different collections.

There are many different search terms you can use to find materials related to this area: Intersex, Transgender or Transsexual, Cross dresser, Female or male impersonator, Androgyne, Drag queen or king. (The subject headings used to describe materials may not reflect modern or respectful terminology due to the process for creating and assigning terms.)

An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings of transgender history throughout the world.