LibGuides: LGBT Studies: LGBTIQA+ Duke History at the University Archives

Campus Publications, Student Papers, and More

Books:

Tobia, Jacob. Sissy: A Coming-of-Gender Story. New York: G. P. Putnam's Sons, 2019.

Campus and Local Publications:

Aurora: An early 1990s newsletter from the Duke Gay and Lesbian Alliance.
- Some copies of this newsletter may also be found in box 1 of the AQUADuke Records.

The Front Line: Raleigh's LGBTIQA+ newspaper is digitized and available online through Digital NC. Search the newspaper on "Duke" or "Duke University" to find lots of articles and ads relating to Duke's LGBTIQA+ community.

Gay Morning Star: Copies of this 1970s newsletter from the Duke Gay Alliance can be found in box 3 of the Student Organizations Reference Collection (in the "Duke Gay, Bisexual and Lesbian Association" folder) or in box 1 of the AQUADuke Records.

Out-lines: Copies of this 1990s newsletter from the Duke Gay, Bisexual, and Lesbian Association can be found in box 3 of the Student Organizations Reference Collection (in the "Duke Gay, Bisexual and Lesbian Association" folder) or in box 1 of the AQUADuke Records.

The University Experience: an unofficial student's guide to Duke University written by the progressive YM-YWCA. Issues cover various campus activism movements, as well as the status of women's, LGBTIQ, African-American, and workers' rights on campus. Additional copies may also be found in box 2 of the YM-YWCA Records.

Unzipped: The Duke Journal of Gender and Sexuality

Womyn: The Queer Experience: Two issues of this journal were published. Copies may be found in box 41 of the Bingham Center Women's Zine Collection.

Student Papers:

Liggett, Chantel K. "Divergent Priorities, Diverging Visions: Lesbian Separatist Versus Gay Male Integrationist Ideology Surrounding Duke in the 1970s and 80s." Undergraduate course paper, 2013. (Full text available via DukeSpace)

Garfinkel, Marc R. "Politics Public and Private: The Emergence of Gay Activism in North Carolina, 1972-1984." Senior honors paper, 1988.
- Chapter two provides an excellent account of the creation of the Duke Gay Alliance.

Archival Collections Documenting LGBTIQ+ History at Duke

Alliance of Queer Undergraduates at Duke (AQUADuke) Records, 1973-1995
Documentation from several of Duke's LGBTQ+ student groups, including the Duke Gay and Lesbian Alliance; the Duke Gay, Bisexual, and Lesbian Association; and Gothic Queers.
Chapel Reference Collection, 1933-ongoing
Box 4 contains documentation pertaining to the multi-year movement to celebrate same-sex unions in Duke Chapel.
Duke Alumni LGBTQ Oral Histories, 2015-2016
Oral histories of LGBTQ Duke alumni conducted by students in the Spring 2015 class, LGBTQ+ History and Activism: Duke, Durham, and Beyond. The alumni attended Duke between the mid-1970s and 2000s and describe experiences at and around Duke and Durham, North Carolina from a variety of perspectives and time periods.
Lisa Hazirjian Papers, 1986-2001
The papers of this Duke alum contain documentation from Duke's LGBT Task Force and graduate student petitions advocating for benefits for same-sex spousal equivalents (SSSEs).
Peer Advocacy for Sexual Health (PASH) records, 2016-2018
Founded in 2016, PASH (Peer Advocacy for Sexual Health) is a student-run resource center that supplies sexual health resources, products, and information to students at Duke. The collection consists of administrative records, materials related to marketing and publicity, meeting minutes and agenda, and House Course materials.
Rainbow Triangle Oral History Collection, 1997-2006
More than 60 interviews with LGBTQ+ people in the Triangle region, often with connections to Duke or Durham.The majority are audio recordings, with a few video recordings. About half of the interviews include a printed transcript, some of which are incomplete. Many interviews also include completed biographical information sheets, created by the Project and completed by the narrator around the time of the interview.
Office of Student Activities and Facilities Records, 1936-ongoing
OSAF (now University Center Activities & Events) serves as the liaison between the university administration and student groups. Its records contain charter and budgetary files for LGBTQ groups like the Gay, Bisexual, and Lesbian Association; Gothic Queers; and Harmony.

Restricted: Records less than 25 years old require UCAE's permission before they may be accessed. Please contact the University Archives for assistance.

Sacred Worth Records, 1999-2014
The records of the Divinity School's LGBTQ+ student organization. The collection includes information about and photos of the group's participation in NC Pride and materials related to the 2014 exhibit Clouds of Witnesses.
Division of Student Affairs Reference Collection, 1987-ongoing
Box 2 of this collection contains copies of the first four reports issued by Duke's LGBT Task Force.
Student Organizations Reference Collection, 1913-ongoing
Folders on the Duke Gay, Bisexual and Lesbian Association (Duke's first LGBTQ+ organization) and the Duke Graduate and Professional Lesbian, Gay & Bisexual Association may be found in box 3. Note that the DGBLA folder contains issues of the Gay Morning Star and Outlines, two of Duke's LGBTQ+ student publications.
Women's Center Records, 1970-2005

Restricted: Records less than 25 years old require the Women's Center's permission before they may be accessed. Please contact the University Archives for assistance.

John G. Younger Papers, 1976-2001
Younger was a professor of Classical Studies and Classical Archaeology at Duke from 1974 to 2002. His papers contain documentation about campus activism on LGBTIQ issues.

Relevant Websites

Blue Devils United Facebook page
BDU is Duke's undergraduate student group for promoting inclusivity of sexual and gender diversity.
Center for Sexual and Gender Diversity
Duke's center for students, staff, faculty, and alumni with marginalized sexual orientations, gender identities, and gender expressions

History of LGBTQ Life at Duke: a timeline and narrative history created by the CSGD.

Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies Program
An interdisciplinary program at Duke dedicated to exploring gender identities, relations, practices, theories and institutions
Love and Liberation: A History of Durham’s LGBTQ+ Community
An online exhibit on Durham's LGBTQ+ history, featuring documents from the Durham County Library's North Carolina Collection.
NC State GLBT Community Timeline
Important events in the history of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender community at NC State.
"Queering Duke History"
A website created in support of the exhibit, "Queering Duke History," curated by Denzell Faison (T '14) and shown at the Duke University Libraries in Fall 2014.
Queerolina: Experiences of Place and Space Through Oral Histories
An online exhibit based on UNC's "The Story of Us" project of LGBTQIA+ student and alum oral histories.