LibGuides: Japanese Studies Databases: Books & Articles

Finding Articles

CiNii
Citation Information by NII (CiNii) is based on NDL's zasshi kiji sakuin.
more...less...
CiNii enables the user to to search both academic journals published by academic societies and research bulletins published by universities, and then to follow up on references to discover documents referenced by the document found, and documents referencing the document found; it also enables access to the full text of open access documents.
Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu
Combines content also available in other Zasshi Kiji Sakuin databases with indices of journals published in the Meiji, Taishō and early Shōwa periods; also indexes minor journals published in local prefectures and cities.
more...less...
The search function enables users to search using modern language for historical words. In addition, each search provides information about university library holdings. Records from the print index compiled by Kōseisha are still being added.

Japanese Reference Materials for Japanese Cinema
Authored by Aaron Gerow, it presents some of the major materials with minimal annotation, with a focus on materials available at Yale. It also offers links to online resources. Note, if Duke holds the item, the call number will be the same as Yale's.
more...less...
Includes filmographies, bibliographies, biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias, yearbooks, film criticism, film histories, photos/posters/programs, periodicals, ephemera.
Film & Video Resources at Lilly Library
Authored by Danette Pachtner, it includes information on finding films, checking out films and more.

CiNii
Union catalog of the holdings of Japanese academic institutions supported by the The National Institute of Informatics in Japan. It includes about 2.5 million titles, including materials published before 1868.
NDL-OPAC
Online catalog for the National Diet Library; Also provides access to union list of newspaper holdings in Japan.
more...less...
Authority file provides the "authorized" version of a name. "Search through authority file" retrieves materials by same author in different spellings automatically. This is particularly useful for the names of foreigners which may have several renderings into katakana.
Tokyo Metropolitan Library
Catalog also provides access to a searchable database of 8000 ukiyoe owned by the library and 646 pictures of Edo castle. 東京資料サーチ finds articles related to Tokyo published in 100 national, scholarly, and local journals between 1993 and 2003.
Japanese Literature -- translations
Covers Japanese literary works translated into ot sixty-six different languages mainly from the end of World War II to the present.
more...less...
The unit is the work rather than the publication, so short stories are listed by title rather than anthology. Based on three printed works, Japanese Literature in Foreign Languages 1945-1995, Japanese Literature Today (both Japan P.E.N. Club) and Index Translationum Cumulative Index since 1979 (UNESCO).