Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records アジア歴史資料センタ
In English, Chinese, Korean and Japanese. JACAR provides indexes to and digital images of historical records about modern Japan-Asia relations held by Japanese national institutions (the National Archives of Japan, The Diplomatic Record Office of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and The National Institute for Defense Studies of the National Defense Agency).
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
US State Department documents which provide access to essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Japanese internal affairs.
Meiji Japan, The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection
Edward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers. Papers (ca. 1858-1925), document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history.
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952
British Foreign Office Files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. Topics include: Japanese culture and society, The shifting nature of Anglo-Japanese relations, The ‘Great Kanto Earthquake’ of 1923, Japanese imperialism, War in the Pacific, Sino-Japanese relations and Manchuria/Manchukuo, Soviet-Japanese relations, The American occupation of Japan, Japanese economy, Trade and the Pacific-rim after World War II, Housing and education in Japan
近代デジタルライブラリー Digital Library from the Meiji era
Includes the full-text of 240,000 out of 570,000 volumes held by the National Diet Library published in Japan during the Meiji (1868-1912), Taishō (1912-1925) and early Shōwa eras (1925-1945) Library. Additional digitized volumes can be seen in NDL. Records for books in the Kindai Digital Library may also be found in CiNii -- search using Kokkai Toshokan in the publisher field.
Focuses on digitizing modern authors out of copyright, but also includes Japanese translations of Western authors. Provides brief biographical information about the author, information about the text - where it was first published - as well as the source of the text that has been transcribed into html. Available for download in several file formats.
PORTA: National Diet Library Digital Archive Portal
Searches digital archives, bibliographies and indexes, websites and reference works. Many special collections materials (old documents) can be found under digital archives.