GSF 390S.03: Feminist Art from the 1960s

Feminist art reveals the effects of images on definitions of gender, sexuality, race, and class and attempts to intervene in how people see and live these categories. Feminist art was inspired by, and a significant part of, the Women's LIberation Movement and the general milieu of protest and upheaval in the late 1960s and 1970s. This guide was designed to help you find books, images, and other resources for this class taught by Professor Kimberly Lamm. 

Art Encyclopedias and other Reference Works

• Getty Research Portal - Getty Research Institute's collection of digitized art history texts.
• Humanities Commons (art history section) scholarly open-source materials for the humanities
• Encyclopedia of World Art - (hardcopy) - older, but longer essays on art topics and issue, half of every volume is plates, may in color
• Pelican History of Art series, Lilly Reference Room, N5300.P38  - the standard English-language history of art. Good beginning source, bibliography for more information

Artists' Dictionaries (biographies of Artists)

• Benezit Dictionary of Artists - All artists of all places and times
•  Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon: die bildenden Künstler aller Zeiten und Völker. - In German and in print, but the most comprehensive biographical dictionary of artists.  Lilly Reference N40 .A63 1992

Keep in mind that specialized Dictionaries can answer many simple art questions.

Symbol Dictionaries

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by Hall, James. (Boulder : Westview Press, c2008.)Lilly Library Ready Reference N7560.H34 2008

Period Dictionaries - Classical

The Grove encyclopedia of classical art & architecture [electronic resource and book]

Decorative Arts

Grove encyclopedia of decorative arts  [electronic resource and book]