Asia
Bibliography of Asian Studies - Articles in Western languages regarding aspects of Asian and South Asian studies, including art history and popular culture.
Auction Catalogs
Scipio - records of individual auction catalogs, but does not contain auction prices for individual works of art.
Medieval
ITER - Indexes journals covering European Renaissance (1300-1700) and medieval eras (400-1500).
Google Scholar - find articles from .edu domains across a wide variety disciplines. Full-text access is limited because of copyright, so finding the full article in Duke Libraries' databases or requesting from Interlibrary Loan may be needed.
Highlighted journals: FEMINIST ART JOURNAL, 04/01/1972 to 06/30/1977 and WOMAN'S ART JOURNAL, 04/01/1980 - present
Searching in databases of scholarly materials is a great way to find secondary sources. When you find one or two good sources, you can use them to then find other sources by searching in the bibliographies and then using Google Scholar to find who has cited those sources since they were written.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
image: Barbara Kruger, Untitled (We Don't Need Another Hero), photostat, 1987
Humanties Journal Databases
Project Muse - journal articles and book reviews published by university presses, including Duke University press.
Francis - Open Source. Multilingual/multidisciplinary information in the humanities (67%) and social sciences (30%); strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - (Web of Knowledge) - look up scholarship by whom was cited in the artitcle.
Electronic Journals by subject - URegensburg's list of online journals limitable by subject. Just limit to "Art History" and scan titles. Those free (or subscribed to by Duke) offer immediate access.
Specialty Bibliographies
The visual culture of women's activism in London, Paris and beyond : an analytical art history, 1860 to the present - the bibliography of this eBook is a gold mine for sources in this area.
Current - exhibition reviews, tracing media coverage of art or artists, popular reception to art and tracing works of art.
Nexis Uni - (formerly Nexis/Lexis) newspaper articles from the late 1980s onward (depending on the newspaper). Separate search for European dailies is also excellent.
America's News - search American newspapers by region of the country or individual newspaper. Great for seeing how an art show was reviewed in rural America.
Historic - newspaper accounts can be primary sources for exhibitions, reception documentation, museum collection history, etc. Also good for patronage verification and biographical/obituary accounts. Both pdf scans of the actual column.
Times Digital Archive - the Times (London), 1785-1985
New York Times Digital Index - 1851 until three years ago.
