Student Activism at Duke University

This guide is designed to help researchers locate University Archives collections and materials related to the history of student activism at Duke, but is not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography.

The information in this guide is separated into six sections. Please use the tabs at left to navigate to each section.

• Secondary Sources: Research papers, publications, and more about Duke students' activism history. The resources here are specific to Duke (rather than, say, a general scholarly work about activist students in US higher education).
• Reference Collections: Reference collections are prepared by Duke University Archives staff to provide brief overviews of popular topics in Duke University's history. They're a good place to start for some quick background information!
• Archival Collections: These collections were received from University departments, faculty, alumni, and organizations. They contain primary documents, including correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and sound and video recordings. The two most frequently-studied protests have their own pages:
  • Silent Vigil: Resources that relate to the silent demonstration in April 1968 following the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 
  • Allen Building Takeover: Resources that relate to the Allen Building Takeover in February 1969.
• Photographs, Audio Recordings, and Film / Video
• Campus Publications: Information about accessing general-interest campus publications—like the Duke Chronicle and Duke Magazine—that cover student activism, as well as student publications specifically focused on activist work.
• Related Websites and Online Resources: Links to online resources at Duke or other outside websites.

After reviewing this guide, please contact a University Archives staff member if you need further assistance in locating additional resources.

The Duke University Archives, part of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, is the official repository for the historical records of Duke University. Visit our website to learn more about us!

The materials described in this guide may be used in the Rubenstein Library's reading room.

Please note that university administrative records are restricted for 25 years, except with written permission from the office that created the records. Board of Trustees records are restricted for 50 years, except with written permission from the Board of Trustees. Find more information about University Archives access policies.

Helpful Links:

• Reading Room hours
• Directions to the Rubenstein Library reading room
• Register as a Rubenstein Library patron and request materials
• Ordering reproductions of Rubenstein Library materials
• How to cite Rubenstein Library materials

The subject headings below will gather together Duke Libraries resources that may be relevant to your research. Clicking on these subject headings will search the entire Duke Libraries catalog.

To narrow the list of results to materials located in the Duke University Archives, select "University Archives" under the Location menu on the lefthand side of the page.

• College students--North Carolina--Durham--Conduct of life.
• College students--Political activity--North Carolina.
• Duke University--Students--Political activity.
• Duke University--Students--Social life and customs.
• Duke University--Students--Societies, etc.