LibGuides: CHEM 295: Introduction to Research Independent Study: Property data and other resources

Subject Librarian

Jenna Strawbridge

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Perkins 233F

919-660-5926

Subjects: Chemistry, Earth & Climate Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Sciences

Reference sources

Books (print and digital)

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (EROS) by Leo A. Paquette (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470842898
Publication Date: 2001-04-30
Information on reagents and catalysts in organic syntheses.
Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis by Robert M. Coates (Editor); Scott E. Denmark (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471979241
Publication Date: 1999-07-09
Print only. In Perkins/Bostock Library (4th floor Bostock side), QD77 .H37 1999, multiple volumes.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 27 Volume Set by Kirk-Othmer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471484943
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. Great for general chemistry as well as chemical engineering information.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Michael D. Larrañaga (Editor); Richard J. Lewis (Editor); Robert A. Lewis
ISBN: 9781118135150
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Online dictionary providing extensive data and descriptive information for thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena.
Organic Chemists Desk Reference by P. H. Rhodes
ISBN: 0412541009
Publication Date: 1995-05-25
Background information on key concepts of organic chemistry. Print only. In Perkins/Bostock Library (4th floor Bostock side), QD291 .R56 1995.
International Tables for Crystallography by C. P. Brock (Editor); H. Fuess (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119362296
Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials.

Online resources

Knovel
- Collection of electronic reference books for science and engineering. Search by property, keyword, or substance name.
CHEMnetBASE
- Collection of chemistry databases:
  - Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds
  - Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
  - Dictionary of Natural Products
  - Dictionary of Organic Compounds
  - Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
  - Dictionary of Drugs
  - Polymers: A Property Database
  - Properties of Organic Compounds
  - Combined Chemical Dictionary

Property data sources

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (online)
This is the online version of the classic print reference book. Start your search here!
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Search an extensive database of chemical compounds by name, physical property, and structure.
Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
Search for chemical, physical, and biological properties of inorganic and organometallic compounds.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Property data from the National Institute of Standards and Technology. To begin choose a search option. On the next screen, select the type of data.
PubChem
Find chemical and biological information for small molecules.
ChemSpider
Free source for chemical information. Allows for structure searching and links to literature sources.

Spectral information

Also see the Getting Started section of this guide.

Books

Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds by Robert M. Silverstein; Francis X. Webster
Call Number: QD272.S6 S55 1998
ISBN: 0471134570
Publication Date: 1997-12-02
Use to determine the structure of an unknown organic compound. Provides help with the identification of spectra peaks for mass, infrared, nuclear magnetic resonance, and ultra violet spectrometry.
Handbook of Spectroscopy by David S. Moore (Editor); Günter Gauglitz (Editor)
ISBN: 9783527654703
Publication Date: 2014-04-03
Four volume set that provides an introduction to spectroscopy, shows what it can do and how it does it, as well as summaries of the wealth of information that can be derived from spectra.

Aldrich Libraries of Spectra
Print sources available in Perkins/Bostock Library, including Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra and Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra.
Sadtler Spectra
List of the series of Sadtler spectra books available in Perkins/Bostock Library.

Online Resources

SDBS - Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
A free resource to search for MS, IR, NMR, Raman, and ESR spectra based on compound name, molecular formula, or peak intensities.

Patents

Patents: Getting Started from Duke University Libraries
Search tips for getting started with reading and searching for patents, created by Duke University Libraries.

CHEM 295: Introduction to Research Independent Study

Subject Librarian

Reference sources

Books (print and digital)

Online resources

Property data sources

Spectral information

Patents

Contact Us

Services for...