Skip to Main Content

CHEM 295: Introduction to Research Independent Study

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Jenna Strawbridge
she/her/hers
Contact:
Perkins 233F
919-660-5926

Getting started

For this class, you will be finding information and developing your information research process. Your final project is a literature review and proposal focusing on your current lab research. Use this guide as a starting point and feel free to email me to schedule research appointments as needed.

EZproxy and VPN

Current Duke students, faculty, and staff have access to electronic library materials from off-campus.

Most databases, eBooks, and other electronic resources use EZproxy authentication. Some databases require the use of a VPN. The VPN may also work in cases when EZproxy does not.

EZproxy

  1. Start at the All, Catalog, Databases, or Online Journal Titles page, or follow a link.
  2. A pop-up window will ask for your NetID and password. Once logged in, you will be able to access any library resources online for the rest of your browser session.

VPN

  1. Go to OIT's VPN page for software installation.
  2. When logging in, select Library Resources Only in the 'Group' and sign in with your NetID and password.
    Duke VPN for Library Resources
    * Multi-factor Authentication (MFA) is required.

For more information, see Off-Campus Access to E-Resources.

Install LibKey

LibKey is a browser extension that provides full-text access to scholarly publications via your institution.

  1. Go to https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad
  2. Select your preferred browser and download
  3. After installation, LibKey Nomad prompts you to select your institution. Simply select it and LibKey Nomad will then notify you of available articles wherever you may roam. Look for the following icon for immediate PDF access:
  4. LibKey is also integrated with scholarly databases, such as Web of Science, Pubmed, and Scopus. It provides quick access to full-tex without having to navigate to the article's homepage to find the PDF.

get it @ Duke

Did you know you can link Google Scholar with Duke University Libraries?

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Click the hamburger menu (☰) in the upper left corner of the screen
  3. Click Settings then Library links
  4. Type Duke and select the following links:

  1. Now when you search in Google Scholar, the results will link back to the Duke University Libraries catalog (Get it @ Duke) and provide full-text access where applicable.