Duke History Revisited

The bulk of the photographs available at the Duke University Archives are housed in three collections:

• University Archives Photograph Collection, 1861-ongoing

• University Archives Photographic Negative Collection, 1855-1995

• University Photography Visual Materials, circa 1960s-2003: this collection is currently being processed. Please ask us for help in finding photos in this collection.

Talk with us about the process of scanning these photos for use in your project!

Also, about 3,000 of the photographs from these collections have been digitized and made available online as part of our Flickr photostream.You should be able to download high-resolution files of these photos directly from Flickr. You're welcome to use these in your project.

The Duke University Archives also holds several collections of Duke Athletics-related photographs. Please see our Duke Athletics LibGuide for additional information about these collections.

And a final note: remember that the Chronicle and the Chanticleer can be good sources of photos, too!

The University Archives collections listed below are our main sources for audio, film, and video recordings produced by university- and student-run media organizations.

• Radio TV Services Records, ca. 1937-1988

• Media Services Audio and Video Records, 1963-ongoing

• WDBS Collection, 1949-1983

• Cable 13 Videotapes, 1976-1982

These recordings document:

• major campus events, including public lectures and performances and university commencement ceremonies
• selected sports events
• press conferences and interviews with campus administrators and faculty
• promotional pieces

Use copies of these recordings may have to be prepared before they may be viewed or listened to; please contact the Duke University Archives staff to inquire about using these recordings.

To locate additional audio and video recordings—including oral history interviews and audio or film recordings of sports events—try searching the Duke University Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Sound Recordings" or "Video Recordings."