Publications produced by Duke University departments and organizations provide contemporary accounts of campus events, and are often a good source for gauging student, faculty, and staff reactions to campus issues. Most publications are not fully indexed, or have indexes that are available only at the Duke University Archives, as indicated below.
The Duke Chronicle (catalog record)
- Our student newspaper began publishing as the Trinity Chronicle on December 19, 1905.
- Issues of the Duke Chronicle from December 19, 1905-February 1989 have been fully digitized.
- Issues from March 1989 through 1993 are available only in paper form. Use the catalog record linked above to place requests for these issues.
- Beginning around 1993, articles are available online at the Duke Chronicle's website. Please note that the online archives of The Duke Chronicle does not reproduce advertisements, including classified ads.
Chanticleer (catalog record)
- The Chanticleer—our student yearbook—published its first volume in spring 1912 (covering the 1911-1912 academic year).
- Access to digitized copies of the Chanticleer is provided as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
The Trinity Archive (catalog record)
- Before The Trinity Chronicle began to publish in December 1905, the school's literary magazine, the Trinity Archive, functioned as a source of campus news and thought. The Archive is still being published, but is now strictly a literary magazine.
- An index to the Trinity Archive (covering November 1887 to May 1932) is available online as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
- Access to digitized copies of the Trinity Archive (through 1929) is provided as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
The Duke Alumni Register (catalog record)
- Published by Trinity College's—and later Duke University's—Alumni Association starting in April 1915, the Alumni Register contains articles on campus milestones, events, trends, and people, as well as alumni updates.
- Subject and name indexes are available as card files in the Duke University Archives. Please contact University Archives staff for assistance.
- Access to digitized copies of the Alumni Register (1915-1975) is provided as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
Duke Magazine (catalog record)
For additional titles, try searching the Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Duke University -- Periodicals" or "Duke University -- Students -- Periodicals."
There's also a strong list of student activism-related publications in the Student Activism at Duke LibGuide.
