Advertising Digital Collections: Collections by Medium

The Broadsides and Ephemera Collection contains broadsides, pamphlets, form letters, posters, newspapers, tickets, and other short printed items dating from the eighteenth to the twentieth century (with the majority dating from the nineteenth century). Truly an interdisciplinary collection, the Broadsides and Ephemera Collection includes materials related to political campaigns, politics, theater, dance, popular entertainments, immigration and emigration, advertising, travel, expositions, military recruitment and campaigns, as well as issues related to race, class, gender, and religion.

All of the issues of the student newspaper, the Duke Chronicle, have been digitized and are text searchable.

The DukEngineer Digital Collection features nearly all DukEngineer magazines issued from 1940-2013, by the students at Duke’s Pratt School of Engineering. Since 1943, the magazine has included print advertisements.

A portal to over 31,000 outdoor advertising images from the Outdoor Advertising Association of America (OAAA) Archives, the OAAA Slide Library, the R.C. Maxwell Company Records, and the papers of prominent outdoor advertising figures John Paver and John Brennan.

ROAD provides access to over 50,000 descriptions of images of outdoor advertising from the 1920s to 1990s. Over 30,000 of the images have now been digitized and are accessible from this site, and through ROAD 2.0.

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. The advertisements originate from the "Competitive Advertisements" Collection in the J. Walter Thompson Company Records.

Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.

This digital collection, curated by historian Nancy Tomes, explores the complex relationship between modern medicine and modern advertising using over 600 images from twentieth-century advertising.

The Ad*Access digital collection consists of print advertisements from the Competitive Advertisements Collection in of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library. The collection includes over 1,000 print advertisements for products related to mid-twentieth century radio and television.

The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.