Advertising Digital Collections: Newspapers and Periodicals

The Broadsides and Ephemera Collection contains broadsides, pamphlets, form letters, posters, newspapers, tickets, and other short printed items dating from the eighteenth to the twentieth century (with the majority dating from the nineteenth century). Truly an interdisciplinary collection, the Broadsides and Ephemera Collection includes materials related to political campaigns, politics, theater, dance, popular entertainments, immigration and emigration, advertising, travel, expositions, military recruitment and campaigns, as well as issues related to race, class, gender, and religion.

All of the issues of the student newspaper, the Duke Chronicle, have been digitized and are text searchable.

The DukEngineer Digital Collection features nearly all DukEngineer magazines issued from 1940-2013, by the students at Duke’s Pratt School of Engineering. Since 1943, the magazine has included print advertisements.

Business and economic literature index from ProQuest, including many trade publications as well as academic literature.

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present. Also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.

Provides a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006, including advertisements. Presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments.

Includes diverse literature of the left, with emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside & outside academia

For education in the news, blogs and broadcasts, provides full text access to a range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts from the 1970s to the present

Provides access to the complete digital edition of The Times (London). The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Covers 1785-1985.