Labor and Employee Relations at Duke University

The bulk of the photographs available at the Duke University Archives are housed in these collections:

• University Archives Photograph Collection, 1861-ongoing
  • Box 22: Minah, Theodore
  • Box 54: Demonstrations (including Duke Vigil)
  • Box 55: Dining Halls, Kitchen and Staff; Dining Halls, Dining Rooms
  • Box 64: Department of Human Resources
  • Box 70: Placement Office
• University Archives Photographic Negative Collection, 1855-1995. Contains negatives.
• Duke Photography, job number records, 1960-2018. This collection is being processed, please reach out to University Archives staff for help in navigating the collection. Contains negatives and contact sheets. 
• Duke University Progress Pictures collection, 1925-1932. This collection covers the construction of Duke's East and West campuses in the 1920s and 1930s, and includes photographs of workers. 

These collections may be requested and reviewed in our reading room, where scanning equipment is available for your use at no charge. Additional fee-based reproduction services are also offered.

Many of the photographs from these two collections have been digitized and made available online as part of our Flickr photostream. 

Here are some suggested pages on our Flickr site:

• Construction of Duke University 
• Dining at Duke 
• Staff 
• Student Activism
• The Silent Vigil, 1968 

These may be downloaded directly from Flickr for private research, study, and teaching (with credit given to the "Duke University Archives").

Please contact us to request permission for other uses of these materials, such as in commercial products or for broadcast or publication.

The University Archives collections listed below are our main sources for audio, film, and video recordings produced by university- and student-run media organizations. Some suggested materials are listed below their collections. 

• Radio TV Services Records, ca. 1937-1988
  • Duke North (Hospital): plans to open. News Conference, Jan. 14, 1980 
• Media Services Audio and Video Records, 1963-ongoing
  • Benefits: Duke University Benefits Program, 1990 November 15 
  • Benefits: Duke Biweekly Employee Benefits, undated
  • Benefits: Phylis Profer, 1994 December
  • Benefits: Phylis Profer, 1995 October 23 
• WDBS Collection, 1949-1983. Duke Vigil recordings can be found here. 
• Cable 13 Videotapes, 1976-1982
  • Town and Gown, 1977 Dec. 7 

These recordings document:

• major campus events, including public lectures and performances and university commencement ceremonies
• selected sports events
• press conferences and interviews with campus administrators and faculty
• promotional pieces

Use copies of these recordings may have to be prepared before they may be viewed or listened to; please contact the Duke University Archives staff to inquire about using these recordings.

To locate additional audio and video recordings—including oral history interviews and audio or film recordings of sports events—try searching the Duke University Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Sound Recordings" or "Video Recordings."