Labor and Employee Relations at Duke University

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to resources on Duke University's employee relations and labor history, but is not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography. 

The information in this guide is separated into five sections. Please use the tabs above to navigate to each section. Links to relevant digitized materials are included in each section.

• Secondary Sources: Books and other publications relevant to Duke's employee and labor history.
• Archival Collections: Primary sources covering labor and employment history at Duke and in the surrounding areas. 
• Photographs, Audio Recordings, and Film / Video: Various photograph and audiovisual collections that cover life on the Duke University campus. 
• Campus Publications: Key publications produced for the Duke community, which provide excellent contemporaneous accounts of campus events and dialogues.
• Related Websites & Other Online Resources: Links to Duke University or external websites able to provide relevant historical information.

Please note that university administrative records are restricted for 25 years after the date of origin, except with written permission from the office that created the records. Board of Trustees records are restricted for 50 years after the date of origin, except with written permission from the Board of Trustees. Find more information about University Archives access policies.

After reviewing this guide, please contact a University Archives staff member if you need further assistance in locating additional resources.

The Duke University Archives, part of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, is the official repository for the historical records of Duke University. Visit our website to learn more about us!

The materials described in this guide may be used in the Rubenstein Library's reading room.

Please note that university administrative records are restricted for 25 years, except with written permission from the office that created the records. Board of Trustees records are restricted for 50 years, except with written permission from the Board of Trustees. Find more information about University Archives access policies.

Helpful Links:

• Reading Room hours
• Directions to the Rubenstein Library reading room
• Register as a Rubenstein Library patron and request materials
• Ordering reproductions of Rubenstein Library materials
• How to cite Rubenstein Library materials

Clicking on these subject headings will search the entire Duke Libraries catalog.

To narrow the list of results to materials located in the Duke University Archives, select "University Archives" under the Location menu on the lefthand side of the page.

• Duke University -- Employees.
• Duke University -- Faculty -- Officials and employees.
• Duke University. Medical Center -- Employees.
• Labor unions -- North Carolina -- Durham.