LibGuides: Labor and Employee Relations at Duke University: Archival Collections

Reference Collections

Reference collections are prepared by Duke University Archives staff to provide brief overviews of popular topics in Duke University's history. You may want to begin your research by studying the materials in these collections as a way of orienting yourself to the topic.

The links below will take you to the collection guides for these reference collections. See the "Introduction" tab of this LibGuide for guidance on accessing these collections.

Blueprint Employee Newsletter, 1980-1986
An employee newsletter published by the Office of University Relations, created as a way for management and employees to communicate
Blueprint Photograph Collection, 1980-1986
Photographs for the Blueprint Newsletter
Duke Graduate Students Union Records, 2013-2018
Contains digitized records about the graduate student union.
Duke Students and Workers in Solidarity Records, 2016
Contains information about an incident concerning a parking attendant in 2016.
Duke University Medical Center Reference Collection, 1941-ongoing
This collection contains a folder titled "Employees and workforce issues," as well as issues of employee newsletters.
Duke Vigil Collection, 1968-1988
In support of unionizing University workers, two of the Vigil's four demands focused on improved pay, union recognition, and collective bargaining.
Faculty Reference Collection, 1972-2000
This collection contains several folders on faculty benefits, as well as several editions of the Faculty Handbook.
Labor Unions Reference Collection, 1958-2001
Contains copies of the Workers' Chronicle, a newspaper for employees.
Office of Human Resources Reference Collection, 1950-ongoing
The Office of Human Resources Reference Collection contains files of memoranda, personnel policy notices, employee handbooks and newsletters, policy manuals, news clippings, literature on training opportunities, and other materials concerning the personnel management functions of the University.
Student Activism Reference Collection, 1934-2022
This collection contains information about movements on campus, including the Vigil and documents such as the Protean Radish and the Progressive Worker.

Researchers interested in employee issues at the Duke University Medical Center may want to contact the Duke University Medical Center Archives.

Organizational Records and Personal Papers

Boyte Family Papers, 1941-1981
Harry C. Boyte was a member of the Class of 1967. The "Duke" folder in box 4 of this collection contains a good bit of documentation about the Local 77, specifically student support for the development of the union.
David M. Henderson Papers, 1964-1989 and undated
Henderson was a member of the Class of 1968. His papers document his activism at Duke and in the Durham community, including work with the Local 1199 (the union for Duke Medical Center employees). Note that access to Henderson's correspondence (in boxes 1 and 2) requires his written permission.
Don Roy Papers, 1921-1980
Box 8 of this noted industrial sociologist's papers is dedicated to materials about union organizing at Duke, including files about Union Local #77; one folder on the Vigil; notes from April-July 1968; and folders about union organizing the Duke University Medical Center.
Douglas M. Knight Records, 1949-1970
Douglas Knight was President of Duke University from 1963-1969, and was present for desegregation at Duke, the Duke Vigil, and the Allen Building Takeover.
Durham County (N.C.) Papers, 1870-1996 and undated
The "Unions" folder in box 19 contains several issues of "Tell It Like It Is" (the "Newsletter of Durham Health Workers & Patients"); bulletins and newsletters from the Local 77's organizing committee; and other labor publications with articles about Duke's unions. The documentation dates from the 1970s.
Librarians Assembly Records, 1972-ongoing
The Librarians Assembly (LA) of Duke University is the staff association for professional librarians at Duke University. The Librarians Assembly records contains materials related to the formation, organization, and activities of the LA.
Lisa Hazirjian Papers, 1986-2001
Contains materials surrounding benefits for same-sex spousal equivalents.
Office of Human Resources Records, 1979-2000
The collection contains memoranda, policy statements, wage and salary information, pay range documentation, and various other materials relating to employee relations and personnel management at Duke University.
Office of the University Treasurer records, 1893-ongoing
This collection includes bound ledgers of employees at Duke University, starting in the 1920s.
Ron Grunwald Papers, 1973-1980
Ron Grunwald participated in student activism movements while on campus, including the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees and the Radical Academic Union.
Terry Sanford Records and Papers, 1945-1998
As Duke's president during a key period for the development of Duke employees unions, Sanford was closely involved in union discussions. Union-related materials--including information about unions in a national context--can be found throughout his collection, but box 134 is particularly rich with information about Duke unions.
Theodore W. "Ted" Minah Records and Papers,1941-1975 and undated
Minah was director of Duke's dining halls from 1946 to 1974. His papers contain substantial documentation of the staff of the dining halls, including their unionization efforts.
William E. Whitford Transcript, 1981
Transcript of an oral history with Whitford, Class of 1927. After graduation, he founded Duke's campus laundry in the late 1920s and then stayed on as a staff member for the next 45 years. He served as served as building inspector, facilities coordinator, Director of Operations and Maintenance, assistant business manager for the University and senior consultant in engineering affairs.
YM-YWCA Records, 1968-1979
Duke's YM-YWCA was deeply involved in labor organizing and the promotion of careers in progressive activism and social change. Their annual handbook to Duke student life, The University Experience, frequently includes essays on or by Duke employees.

Labor and Employee Relations at Duke University

Local 77 Pin

School of Nursing, 1960

Reference Collections

Organizational Records and Personal Papers

Contact Us

Services for...