Skip to Main Content

Labor and Employee Relations at Duke University

Contact the Duke University Archives

Duke University Archives

at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Visit our website!

Ask Us

Duke University Publications

Publications produced by Duke University departments and organizations provide contemporary accounts of campus events, and are often a good source for gauging student, faculty, and staff reactions to campus issues. Most publications are not fully indexed, or have indexes that are available only at the Duke University Archives, as indicated below.

For additional titles, try searching the Libraries' catalog with the subject heading "Duke University -- Periodicals" or "Duke University -- Students -- Periodicals."

Publications for Employees

We the People

  • The newsletter of the Local 77. The Duke University Archives holds three issues dating from 1966.
  • No index is available.

Duke Dialogue

  • Duke's staff newsletter, published between 1986 and 2006 (it was replaced by Working@Duke.)
  • Faculty Notes, a regular insert, includes faculty-related news.
  • No index is available.

Faculty Newsletter

  • This predecessor to Duke Dialogue was published from 1979 to 1986.
  • No index is available.

‚ÄčWorking@Duke 

  • Duke's current publication for employees, Working@Duke began publishing in 2006.

Blueprint

  • Published from 1980-1986
  • No index is available

 

 

Other Campus Publications

The Duke Chronicle

  • Our student newspaper began publishing as The Trinity Chronicle on December 19, 1905.
  • Selected issues of The Chronicle have been digitized and made available online.
  • Partial indexes to The Duke Chronicle are available online as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
  • Beginning around 1993, articles are available online at The Duke Chronicle's website. Please note that the online archives of The Duke Chronicle does not reproduce advertisements, including classified ads.

Chanticleer

  • The Chanticleer—our student yearbook—published its first volume in spring 1912 (covering the 1911-1912 academic year).
  • Access digitized copies of the Chanticleer as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
  • The Chanticleer occasionally includes photographs of Duke staff members.

The Trinity Archive

  • Before The Trinity Chronicle began to publish in December 1905, the school's literary magazine, the Trinity Archive, functioned as a source of campus news and thought. The Archive is still being published, but is now strictly a literary magazine.
  • An index to the Trinity Archive (covering November 1887 to May 1932) is available online as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.
  • Access digitized copies of the Trinity Archive (through 1924) as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.

The Duke Alumni Register

  • Published by Trinity College's—and later Duke University's—Alumni Association starting in April 1915, the Alumni Register contains articles on campus milestones, events, trends, and people, as well as alumni updates.
  • Subject and name indexes are available as card files in the Duke University Archives. Please contact University Archives staff for assistance.
  • Access digitized copies of the Alumni Register (1915-1975) as part of the Duke University Libraries' Internet Archive collection.

Duke Magazine