Skip to main content

Middle East Primary Sources: Personal Narratives, Autobiographies, Testimonies, etc.

Personal Narratives

Alam, Asadollah.
The Shah and I : the confidential diary of Iran's royal court, 1969-1977.
New York : St. Martin's Press, 1992.
Library Service Center DS316.9.A35 A3 1992 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Ben Gurion looks back in talks with Moshe Pearlman.
New York, Simon and Schuster [1965]
Perkins/Bostock Library DS125.3.B37 A33 1965 Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Days of David Ben-Gurion, seen in photographs and with text from his speeches and writings.
New York, Grossman, 1967.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS125.3.B37 A5 1967 Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Israel; a personal history.
New York, Funk & Wagnalls; distributed by T.Y. Crowell Co. [1971]
Divinity School Library DS126.5 .B44513 1971
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.5 .B44513 1971 Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Memoirs: David Ben-Gurion.
New York, World Pub. Co. [1970]
Perkins/Bostock Library 923.25694 B466AB Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Based on a series of interviews with Ben-Gurion during the filming of the Covenant Communications Corporation production Forty-two six.
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
My talks with Arab leaders.
New York, Third Press [1973, c1972]
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126 .B3933 1973 Check availability @ Duke
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Rebirth and destiny of Israel.
New York, Philosophical Library [c1954]
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.3 .B4 1954 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Translation of essays and addresses delivered or written from 1915 to 1952.
Ben-Gurion, David, 1886-1973.
Zikhronot me-et David Ben-Guryon.
Tel-Aviv: Am oved 1971-
Perkins/Bostock Library DS125.3.B37 A39 1971 Check availability @ Duke
Breaking the Silence.
Our harsh logic : Israeli soldiers' testimonies from the occupied territories, 2000-2010.
New York: Henry Holt and Co., 2012.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS119.76 .O82 2012 Check availability @ Duke
Carter, Jimmy.
The hostages in Iran. [sound recording].
[New York] : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library 1979
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1979 Nov., no. 1 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: J. Carter. Boycott on Iranian oil imports.--J. Carter. We will not yield to terrorism.--A. Khomeini. The hostages can be exchanged for the Shah.--J. Carter. News conference of 11/28/79, on the crisis in Iran.
Carter, Jimmy.
In search of peace: The Egyptian-Israeli peace treaty signing ceremony. [sound cassette].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library 1979
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1979 Mar., no. 3 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: The remarks of President Carter, President Sadat, and Prime Minister Begin at the signing ceremony of the peace treaty between Israel and Egypt in Washington D.C., with CBS News Correspondents Neil Strawser, Reid Collins, and Bernard Kalb.
Carter, Jimmy.
Pres. Carter's news conference of September 18, 1980 [sound cassette].
[New York] : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library, 1980.
Lilly Library | A-V Sound cassette | 760 1980, Sept., no. 2 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Side A. Pres. Carter's news conference of September 18, 1980--Side B. The hostage Iran set free / Richard Queen.
Carter, Jimmy.
The spirit of Camp David--a framework for peace in the Middle East. [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library, 1978.
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1978 Sept. no. 1 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: President Carter, President Sadat of Egypt and Israeli Prime Minister Begin jointly announce the "framework for peace" in the Middle East arrived at during the Camp David Summit.
Daugherty, William J.
In the shadow of the Ayatollah : a CIA hostage in Iran.
Annapolis, Md. : Naval Institute Press, c2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I55 D37 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Dayan, Yael.
Israel journal, June, 1967.
New York, McGraw-Hill, 1967.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS127.7 .D32 1968 Check availability @ Duke
Library Service Center DS127.7 .D3 1967 Check availability @ Duke
Eskenazi, Victor.
Thanks for the Buggy Ride : memoirs of an Ottoman Jew.
İstanbul: Libra, 2013.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS135.T83E74 A3 2013
Check availability @ Duke
Farah, Consort of Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
An enduring love : my life with the Shah.
New York, N.Y. : Miramax, c2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS316.F3613 A3 2004 Check availability @ Duke
Gurney, Henry, 1898-1951.
The end of the British Mandate for Palestine, 1948 : the diary of Sir Henry Gurney.
Basingstoke, England ; New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.
Perkins/Bostock Library DA566.9.G89 A3 2009 Check availability @ Duke
Hadawi, Sami.
Village statistics, 1945: a classification of land and area ownership in Palestine. With explanatory notes by Sami Hadawi.
Beirut, Palestine Liberation Organization, Research Center, 1970.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reserve HB3659.P3 H25 1970 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Based on data originally collected by the Dept. of Land Settlement and the Dept. of Statistics, of the Government of Palestine, and published under title: Village statistics 1945. Cf. introd., p. 11-12.
Haelyon, Yaacov. / העליון, יעקב.
Regel shel bubah. / רגל של בובה
Tel Aviv: Am Oved, 1973.
Perkins/Bostock Library Check availability @ Duke
Jamasī, Muḥammad ʻAbd al-Ghanī.
The October war : memoirs of Field Marshal El-Gamasy of Egypt.
Cairo, Egypt: The American University in Cairo Press, 1993.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS128.19.E3 E4313 1993 Check availability @ Duke
Jarman, Robert L. (ed.)
Political diaries of the Arab world. Palestine and Jordan.
[Slough]: Archive Editions, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126 .P55 2001x v.1-10 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: v. 1. 1920-1923 -- v. 2. 1924-1936 -- v. 3. 1937-1938 -- v. 4. 1939 -- v. 5. 1939-1940 -- v. 6. 1941-1942 -- v. 7. 1943-1944 -- v. 8. 1945-1946 -- v. 9. 1947 -- v. 10. 1948-1965.
Khomeini, Ruhollah.
Islam and revolution : writings and declarations of Imam Khomeini.
Berkeley, [Calif.] : Mizan Press, c1981.
Divinity School Library DS318 .K427 1981 Check availability @ Duke
Khomeini, Ruhollah.
Turmoil in Iran : Ayatollah Khomeini faces the nation.
[New York] : Encyclopedia Americans/CBS News Audio Resource Library c1979
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1979 Jan. no. 2 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: A. Khomeni, A. Ayatollah Khomeini faces the nation. B. Bell, J. et al. Turmoil in Iran. Randall, T. An outspoken actor on life and the arts.
Koob, Kathryn.
Guest of the revolution.
Nashville : T. Nelson Pub., c1982.
Library Service Center 955.054 K82, G936, 1982 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Laingen, L. Bruce.
Yellow ribbon : the secret journal of Bruce Laingen.
Washington : Brassey's (US), 1992.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I55 L35 1992 Check availability @ Duke
Subject: Personal narrative about the Iran Hostage Crisis, 1979-1981 by a former U.S. ambassador.
League of Arab States. Arab Information Center.
Israeli violations of human rights in occupied Palestine.
Washington, D. C. : Arab Information Center, 1977.
Perkins/Bostock Library Locked Stacks DS127.6.O3 I8 1977 Check availability @ Duke
Maẓhar, Sulaymān. / سليمان مظهر
Iʻtirāfāt qādat ḥarb Yūniyū : nuṣūṣ shahādātihim amāma Lajnat Tasjīl Tārīkh al-Thawrah / اعترافات قادة حرب يونيو : نصوص شهاداتهم أمام لجنة تسجيل تاريخ الثورة
al-Qāhirah: Dār al-Ḥurrīyah, 1990.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS127.9.E3 I85 1990 Check availability @ Duke
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978.
A land of our own: an oral autobiography.
New York, Putnam, 1973.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.6.M42 A36 1973 Check availability @ Duke
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978.
The Mideast crisis [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library, 1971.
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1971 Jan. no. 3 Check availability @ Duke
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978.
My life.
New York : Putnam, 1975.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.6.M42 A37 1975 Check availability @ Duke
Meir, Golda, 1898-1978.
This is our strength; selected papers.
New York, Macmillan, 1962.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS126.6.M42 A5 1962 Check availability @ Duke
Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
An address to my countrymen.
[S.l. : s.n.], 1983.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS318 .M65 1983 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Includes English translation of the Iranian constitution: Qanun-i Asasi (1979).
Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
Answer to history.
New York : Stein and Day, 1980.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS318 .M58413 1980 Check availability @ Duke
Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
Mission for my country.
New York, McGraw-Hill [1961, c1960]
Perkins/Bostock Library DS318 .M6 1961 Check availability @ Duke
Mohammed Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran.
The Shah's story.
London : M. Joseph, 1980.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS318.M6 M6 1980a Check availability @ Duke
Nasser, Gamal Abdel.
Ḥādith al-Manshīyah [sound recording].
al-Qāhirah: Ittiḥād al-Idhāʻah wa-al-Tilīfizyūn, Ṣawt al-Qāhirah lil-Ṣawtīyāt wa-al-Marʼīyāt, 200-
Lilly Library CD 1228 (A-V Compact disc)
Check availability @ Duke
Summary: Presents a speech by Egyptian president Gamal Abdel Nasser concerning the Mansheya incident. Nasser uses an assassination attempt against him in Alexandria as a pretext for liquidating the Muslim Brotherhood and imprison communists.
Nasser, Gamal Abdel.
Qarār al-tanaḥḥī [sound recording].
al-Qāhirah: Ittiḥād al-Idhāʻah wa-al-Tilīfizyūn, Ṣawt al-Qāhirah lil-Ṣawtīyāt wa-al-Marʼīyāt, 200-
Lilly Library CD 1229 (A-V Compact disc)
Check availability @ Duke
Summary: Address to the Egyptian people by President Gamal Abdel Nasser declaring his intention to abdicate.
Nasser, Gamal Abdel.
Taʼmīm Qanāt al-Suways [sound recording].
al-Qāhirah: Ittiḥād al-Idhāʻah wa-al-Tilīfizyūn, Ṣawt al-Qāhirah lil-Ṣawtīyāt wa-al-Marʼīyāt, 200-
Lilly Library CD 1233 (A-V Compact disc) 2 discs
Check availability @ Duke
Summary: Presents a speech by Egyptian president Gamal Abdel Nasser on the occasion of the nationalization of the Suez Canal.
Nasser, Gamal Abdel.
Waḥdat Miṣr wa-Sūriyā [sound recording].
al-Qāhirah: Ittiḥād al-Idhāʻah wa-al-Tilīfizyūn, Ṣawt al-Qāhirah lil-Ṣawtīyāt wa-al-Marʼīyāt, 200-
Lilly Library CD 1231 (A-V Compact disc)
Check availability @ Duke
Summary: Presents a speech by Egyptian president Gamal Abdel Nasser, on the occasion of Egypt and Syria unity.
Organization of Iranian Moslem Students.
The Rise : (English defense publication) : and leaflets in English.
[Wilmette, Ill.] : Organization of Iranian Moslem Students, 1979.
Library Service Center 955.053 R595, 1979 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Consists of reprints of all issues of The Rise : defense publication of the Organization of Iranian Moslem Students and reprints of the organization's English language leaflets.
Notes: "The 4th annual convention of the .. organization ..., held ... during April 18-21, 1979, unanimously decided to dissolve the organization."--Introd.
Rifa'i, Amal.
We just want to live here : a Palestinian teenager, an Israeli teenager : an unlikely friendship.
New York : St. Martin's Griffin, c2003.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS119.7 .R497 2003 Check availability @ Duke
Riverbend.
Baghdad burning : girl blog from Iraq.
New York : Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS79.76 .R587 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: August through December 2003 -- January through March 2004 -- April through September 2004.
Riverbend.
Baghdad burning II : more girl blog from Iraq.
New York : Feminist Press, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS79.76 R587 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Rosen, Barbara.
The destined hour : the hostage crisis and one family's ordeal.
Garden City, N.Y. : Doubleday, 1982.
Library Service Center E183.8.I55 R66 1982 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Sadat, Anwar.
Addressing the American Congress [sound recording].
[S.l.] : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library ; New York : Grolier Educational Corp. [distributor], 1975.
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1975 Nov. no. 2 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: In an address to the U.S. Congress, Egyptian President Anwar Sadat comments on tensions in the Middle East and on American-Egyptian relations. He urges support for the Palestinians and restraint in shipping arms to the Middle East.
Sadat, Anwar.
Egyptian Pres. Sadat & Israeli Prime Min. Begin : an invitation to peace (with Walter Cronkite) [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library 1977
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1977 Nov. no. 1 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Side A. Egyptian Pres. Sadat & Israeli Prime Min. Begin : an invitation to peace. A joint news conference in Jerusalem, pt. 1.--Side B.A joint news conference in Jerusalem, pt. 2.
Sadat, Anwar.
Egyptian Pres. Sadat & Israeli Prime Min. Begin : side by side in Jerusalem (with Walter Cronkite) [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library 1977
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1977 Nov. no. 2 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Side A. Egyptian Pres. Sadat and Israeli Prime Min. Begin : side by side in Jerusalem. Morris, D. Manwatching, pt. 1.--Side B. Manwatching, pt. 2. Kozinski, J.A conversation with Jerzy Kozinski.
Sadat, Anwar.
In search of identity : an autobiography.
New York : Harper & Row, c1978.
Perkins/Bostock Library DT107.828.S23 A33 1978 Check availability @ Duke
Sadat, Anwar.
Khiṭāb al-Raʼīs Muḥammad Anwar al-Sādāt bi-al-Kinīsit al-Isrāʼīlī, 21/11/1977 [sound recording].
al-Qāhirah: Ittiḥād al-Idhāʻah wa-al-Tilīfizyūn, Ṣawt al-Qāhirah lil-Ṣawtīyāt wa-al-Marʼīyāt, 200-
Lilly Library CD 1227 (A-V Compact disc) Check availability @ Duke
Presents a speech by Egyptian president Anwar al-Sadat to the Israeli Constituent Assembly (Keneset), 1977.
Sadat, Anwar.
Khiṭāb naṣr Uktūbir, 1973 [sound recording].
al-Qāhirah: Ittiḥād al-Idhāʻah wa-al-Tilīfizyūn, Ṣawt al-Qāhirah lil-Ṣawtīyāt wa-al-Marʼīyāt, 200-
Lilly Library CD 1232 (A-V Compact disc)
Check availability @ Duke
Presents a victory speech by Egyptian president Anwar al-Sadat in October 1973.
Sadat, Anwar.
The Mideast crisis [sound recording].
New York : Encyclopedia Americana/CBS News Audio Resource Library, 1971.
Lilly Library A-V Sound cassette 760 1971 Jan. no. 3 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: In an interview with CBS News, President Sadat of Egypt outlines Egypt's conditions for continuance of the cease fire and eventual peace negotiations. Recorded Jan. 6, 1971 in Cairo.
Sadat, Anwar.
The public diary of President Sadat.
Leiden : Brill, 1978.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS41 .S635 v.25 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: pt. 1. The road to war (Oct. 1970-Oct. 1973)--pt. 2. The road of diplomacy (Nov. 1973-May 1975)--pt. 3. The road of pragmatism (June 1975-Oct. 1976)
Sadat, Anwar.
Revolt on the Nile. With a foreword by President Nasser.
London, A. Wingate, 1957.
Perkins/Bostock Library DT107.82 .S3 1957a Check availability @ Duke
Sadat, Anwar.
Those I have known. Foreword by Jimmy Carter.
New York : Continuum, 1984.
Perkins/Bostock Library 962.054092 S124, T523, 1984 Check availability @ Duke
سادات، أنور.. Sadat, Anwar, 1918-
وصيتي /
Waṣiyyatī.

القاهرة ؛ الاسكندرية : المكتب المصري الحديث، 1982.
Cairo ; Alexandria : al-Maktab al-Miṣrī al-Ḥadīth, 1982
Library Service Center 962.054092 S124, W319, 1982 LSC Check availability @ Duke
Sela, Ido (Director)
Testimonies, Israeli soldiers on the Intifada [videorecording].
Eduyot Association, les Films d'ici ; in association with Channel 4.
Israel : Eduyot Association, c1993.
1 videocassette: 56 min, col.
Library Service Center VC 5614
Check availability @ Duke
This film deals with the role and reactions of male Israeli soldiers serving in the Occupied Territories during the Intifada.
Shapira, Avraham (ed.)
The seventh day: soldiers talk about the Six-Day War.
London : Deutsch, 1970.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS127.7 .S513 1970 Check availability @ Duke
Sickmann, Rocky.
Iranian hostage : a personal diary of 444 days in captivity.
Topeka, Kan. : Crawford Press, 1982.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I55 S54 1982 Check availability @ Duke
Storrs, Ronald, Sir, 1881-1955.
Middle East politics and diplomacy, 1904-1950 : the papers of Sir Ronald Storrs (1881-1956) from Pembroke College, Cambridge.
Marlborough, Wiltshire [England] : Adam Matthew Publications, 1999.
Online guide
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms Microfilm M9512 Check availability @ Duke
Wells, Tim.
444 days : the hostages remember.
San Diego : Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, c1985.
Perkins/Bostock Library E183.8.I7 W45 1985 Check availability @ Duke
Yarom, Tamar (Director).
To see if I'm smiling [videorecording].
New York, NY : Women Make Movies, 2007.
1 videodisc: 60 min, color.
Lilly Library DVD 11093 Limited Circulation
Check availability @ Duke
Summary: Israel is the only country in the world where 18-year-old girls are drafted for compulsory military service. In this award-winning documentary, the frank testimonials of six female Israeli soldiers stationed in Gaza and the West Bank pack a powerful emotional punch. The young women revisit their tours of duty in the occupied territories with surprising honesty and strip bare stereotypes of gender differences in the military. The former soldiers share shocking moments of negligence, flippancy, immaturity and power-tripping as they describe atrocities they witnessed and participated in. The psychological transformation that these young women underwent as a result of military service is both upsetting and riveting. The culture of war transforms people: personalities change, moral codes are subverted, values are supplanted and masks are constructed to dull the pain of what they did and didn't do in uniform. At a time when women in the military are increasingly on the frontlines, and the actions of soldiers all over the world are being questioned, this powerful film explores the ways that gender, ethics and moral responsibility intersect during war. --Publisher's website