Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Ackland Art Museum (The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
The Ackland Art Museum's collection offers teachers a broad range of programs and materials that support the development of their and their students' skills and interests. A varied selection of teacher workshops help teachers learn and create new ways of using works of art to improve their students' writing, critical-thinking, and other skills. Materials based on works of art in the Ackland's collection emphasize object-based learning. Teachers may schedule visits to the museum for their students, participate in Mini-Workshops for Busy Teachers and summer workshops, and borrow slides, videotapes and curriculum kits on Asia. The "Five Faiths Project," a multiyear initiative with the goal of using the Ackland Art Museum's collection of religious art as a starting point for helping people explore five of the world's great religions--Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam and Judaism will include a variety of activities, will begin in the Spring of 2000. This project will include an educ
Art History Resources on the Web
Rich variety of historical art images. Maintained by a faculty at Sweet Briar College, Virginia. Part One is organized by period, Prehistoric - 20th Century. Part Two is a subject list museums, libraries, visual resources, research guides and online periodical searches.
The Huntington Photographic Archive of Buddhist and Asian Art
Includes online exhibitions of Chinese, Japanese and Indian art. (Ohio State University).
National Gallery of Art (Washington D.C.)
The National Gallery has several slide/tape programs on Asia available for download or to borrow.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York City)
Has a comprehensive list of Online Resources on Asian Art.
A new digital image collection portal that includes more than 300,000 works from museums, universities and private collections throughout the world. Most of the collections in Visual Collections are available for free public access. In a few cases, use of materials is limited to educational use and subscriptions are required, but complete low-resolution versions of all the collections are available.
China in the Red
PBS Frontline Program on contemporary China: China in the Red. It is a two-hour documentary that tells the stories of 10 Chinese individuals -- factory workers, rural villagers, and a millionaire entrepreneur -- caught up in China's dramatic, ongoing effort to modernize its economy. Through their intimate personal stories, camera work capturing the unique feel of their cities and homes, and with a soundtrack that includes Chinese rock music reflecting the rawness and energy of a nation in great flux, "China in the Red" offers a view of China that is rarely seen in the West.
China: Exploring the Interior 1903-1904
A collection of photographs of rural Chinese people during the Boxer Rebellion
Chinese Nianhua Gallery (Folk Art)
Nianhua offer numerous opportunities for learning about Chinese culture. This web site provides images of different styles of the nianhua and introductory text.
e-Museum - National Treasure and Important Cultural Properties of the Tokyo National Museum
Images and texts relating to China include Chinese paintings from the Song and Yuan dynasties, Buddhist sutras and Chinese classics, and Japanese and Chinese calligraphy. Site is not searchable. To use this website, run mouse over images to read pop-up menu that explains contents. "Tsukaikata" button at bottom right of homepage will take you to a page with website navigation directions. Includes Japanese, Chinese, Korean, and French descriptions, in addition to English.
Out of the East: China's Influence on Western Fashion
A interesting exhibition by the Fashion Institute of Technology in Manhattan.
Provides audio excerpts from Unbreakable Spirits, a 12-part, half hour radio series on Chinese women's cultural creativity in classical, traditional and contemporary music, in religious practice and cultural ceremony.
Visions of China: 50 Years of the People's Republic of China
CNN In-Depth program on the history of PRC. The interact games under Inside China to identify key figures, places and famous quotes.
The China Guide
Designed for tourists to major cities in China: Beijing, Shanghai, Xi’an and Harbin, this site includes interactive maps and 360° tours of many important sights: The Forbidden City; Tiananmen Square; Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple, The Summer Palace, The Great Wall, Shanghai Pudong, Xi’an Terra Cotta Warriors, etc.
Bakumatsu and Meiji Old Photo Archives (Nagasaki University)
Photographs in this database show how Japan was transforming from the late Edo period into the Meiji. The large collection, containing over 5,400 photographs that are in relatively good condition, was subtly colored by craftsmen called professional painters. Four types of search screens, that can be entered in both Japanese and English are organized effectively in accordance. One can execute various searches without any specific knowledge of photographs. Free keyword search, for instance, includes searching not only captions to the photos but also descriptions of the photos, and one can select a photo by clicking a geographical name of an area on a map.
e-Museum - National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties of the Tokyo National Museum
Images and texts include Japanese paintings from the 11th-13th centuries and 15th-19th centuries, Chinese paintings from the Song and Yuan dynasties, Buddhist sutras and Chinese classics, swords, historical and classical Japanese documents, Japanese and Chinese calligraphy, and textiles. Site is not searchable. To use this website, run mouse over images to read pop-up menu that explains contents. "Tsukaikata" button at bottom right of homepage will take you to a page with website navigation directions. Includes Japanese, Chinese, Korean, and French descriptions, in addition to English.
Registration is necessary but can display photos thereafter. Lots of photos of daily life in contemporary Japan. Tends towards exotic (eye-catching) rather than everyday. Erotic is mixed in as is true elsewhere in Japan.
"A source of knowledge and materials for K-12 educators including background readings for teachers and students, lesson plans, maps, and interactive timeline and an extensive photo gallery."
Go Japan Go
Very commercial but Japanese picture gallery is useful.
National Diet Library: Online Gallery
Includes many exhbitions on the history and culture of Japan in English, including modern Japan in archives; fauna and flora in illustrations (Edo period), portraits of modern Japanese historical figures, Ex-libris stamps, Birth of the Constitution, the Japanese calendar, Rare books, Scenic mementos of Japan, The Vienna International Exposition (1873), and Modern Japanese political history materials.
Ohara Shaken Poster Exhibit
The Ohara Institute owns about 2700 posters of the pre-1945 period and 1400 posters of the post-1945 period. Poster Exhibitions show some of these posters and English translation of texts in the "Slide Show" format.
Rare Materials Library - Kyoto University Digital Library
This site features images selected from the rare materials housed at Kyoto University, including fairytales (with images from stories and English synopses), a rare, illustrated manuscript of the classical kabuki play Kunijo Kabuki Ekotoba (includes modern English, modern Japanese, and classical Japanese translations), and completely digitized texts on Japanese natural history by Siebold and others (some with English descriptions).
Smithsonian Freer Gallery of Art & Arthur M. Sackler Gallery - Online Exhibitions
Features online exhibit entitled "Dream Worlds: Modern Japanese Prints and Paintings from the Robert O. Muller Collection", "Faith and Form: Selected Calligraphy from Japanese Religious Traditions", and "Masterful Illusions: Japanese Prints from the Anne van Biema Collection."
UKIYO-E: The Pictures of the Floating World
A Guide to the Ukiyo-e Sites of the Internet
Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum, Waseda University
An image database with more than 47000 prints, now with an easier user interface, Japanese text only
Viewing Japanese Prints
John Fiorillo's encyclopedic articles on various aspects of ukiyo-e, shin-hanga and sosaku-hanga
Images of Korea
Provides pictures and introductory information on various Korean traditions, including dresses, language, food, cooking, religions, martial arts, medicine, dance drama, etc.
Life in Korea
Contains over 8,000 original pictures related to Korea. We have tried to keep the full-sized pictures under 50 KB to speed up viewing. You can also find many other pictures in the Travel Guide and Cultural Spotlight sections.