Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
North Carolina Resources
The Ackland Art Museum (The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
The Ackland Art Museum's collection offers teachers a broad range of programs and materials that support the development of their and their students' skills and interests. A varied selection of teacher workshops help teachers learn and create new ways of using works of art to improve their students' writing, critical-thinking, and other skills. Materials based on works of art in the Ackland's collection emphasize object-based learning. Teachers may schedule visits to the museum for their students, participate in Mini-Workshops for Busy Teachers and summer workshops, and borrow slides, videotapes and curriculum kits on Asia. The "Five Faiths Project," a multiyear initiative with the goal of using the Ackland Art Museum's collection of religious art as a starting point for helping people explore five of the world's great religions--Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam and Judaism will include a variety of activities, will begin in the Spring of 2000. This project will include an educa
Asian/Pacific Studies Institute (Duke University)
Founded in 1981, APSI fosters an active community of scholars of East and Southeast Asia, promotes the highest standards of undergraduate and graduate education in Asian Studies, enhances awareness of Asian cultures at Duke and across the Triangle, and provides academic and cultural resources about Asia to schools, colleges and universities in the southeastern United States.
Carolina Asia Center
Founded in 2002, the Carolina Asia Center (CAC) is the University of North Carolina’s flagship organization for Asia-related activities. The CAC partners with Duke University, North Carolina State University, and the UNC system of universities and community colleges to transform our understanding of and relationship with Asia, and to equip students and others with the knowledge of Asia to assume leadership roles.
Department of Asian Studies (The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
The Curriculum in Asian Studies has several missions including language instruction, promotion of an understanding of the history, cultures and societies of the people of East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Asian Diaspora in the United States; an interdisciplinary B.A. in Asian Studies; promotion of the highest quality of research by all the Asian Studies faculty in their various disciplines; presentation of public programs on Asian topics to campus and community audiences, and support of improved K-12 education related to Asia in the state of North Carolina and the southeast region.
East Asian Collection, Perkins Library (Duke University)
Staffed by China, Japan and Korea specialists (see staff page), the collections house materials related to China, Japan and Korea. The librarians will work with classes studying Chinese, Japanese and Korean language and society who wish to visit the library. To arrange a visit, please call 919-660-5844 (Japan), 919-660-5803 (China) or 919-660-5817 (Korea). Includes both print and electronic resources on China, Japan and Korea, including newspapers, films and popular culture.
NCDPI K-12 Curriculum and Instruction
The purpose of the Division of Curriculum & School Reform is to develop, maintain, and revise curriculum for early childhood through grade twelve. The Division develops the North Carolina Standard Course of Study, creates curriculum products in all subject areas for teacher use, and coordinates many professional development opportunities.
North Carolina Japan Center (North Carolina State University, Raleigh North Carolina))
The NC Japan Center at NC State is committed to supporting and strengthening academic, cultural, and economic relationships between North Carolina and Japan. They offer language classes, workshops and events, consultation and resources for the Japanese-American community in NC.
TACAS - Triangle Area Chinese American Society of North Carolina
TACAS supports programs that promote Chinese language and cultural exchange among Chinese and with people of all ethnic, racial, and professional backgrounds. This includes working closely with Raleigh Chinese Language School, and supporting the TACAS Arts Center, the New millennium Playhouse, and Triangle Area Peking Opera Club. TACAS also offers a Book Club, Youth Group, Youth Symphony, and Rainbow Dance Club.