LibGuides: East Asian Resources for Teachers: Language Teaching

General

Ñandutí: Early Language Learning
Links to model programs and a snapshot of early language learning in grades PreK-8 in the U.S. The latter reports that elementary level instruction in foreign languages has risen 10 percent in the decade from 1987 to 1997, to a total of 31 percent. Among LTCLs, only Japanese has shown an increase, from 0 to 3 percent of programs.
National Directory of Early Foreign Language Programs
A searchable database of over 1,400 elementary language programs in the U.S.; This directory, while not intended to be comprehensive, provides a sampling of nearly 1500 early language programs in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages
The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages - ACTFL - is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 7,000 foreign language educators and administrators from;elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition
Launched in 1993 with funding from the; United States Department of Education (USDE), the Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) at the University of Minnesota supports a number of coordinated programs of research, training, development, and dissemination of information related to second language teaching, learning and assessment. The center has been designated as one of nine National Language Resource Centers, whose role is to improve the nation's capacity to teach and learn foreign languages effectively.
(NEALRC) The National East Asian Languages Resource Center
In 1999, the National Foreign Language Resource center adopted an East Asian languages focus. They continue to have a large number of ongoing projects of use and interest to teachers.
Educational Resources Information Center
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
GEM - The Gateway to Education Materials
A special project of the ERIC Clearinghouse on Information and Technology that provides quick and easy access to the substantial, but uncatalogued, collections of educational materials found on various federal, state, university, nonprofit, and commercial Internet sites.
Foreign Language Teaching Forum
FLTEACH Listserv. Email:FLTEACH@cortland.edu. Subscribe to the list by sending the message SUBSCRIBE FLTEACH firstname lastname to LISTSERV@listserv.acsu.buffalo.edu.

Korean

Study Korean
Requires free registration.
Let's Learn Korean
KBS World Radio, the voice of Korea, provides the easiest and most efficient way to learn the Korean language with entertaining lessons and tips with selected languages (English, German, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Indonesian, Chinese and Japanese).
Let's Speak Korean
Arirang Broadcasting’s “Let’s Speak Korean” offers viewers a televised language program. Viewers can also learn more about Korean culture in the process.
American Association of Teachers of Korean (AATK)
Founded for all levels of teachers of the Korean language, culture, and literature in the United States of America, AATK’s mission is to enhance and promote an interest in the teaching and learning of the Korean language, culture and literature as well as to carry out research in second language acquisition, applied linguistics, language pedagogy.
KOSNET
Korean Language Study On The Internet of The National Institute for Education Development offers online learning of Korean. As a governmental organization, it also contributes to international educational exchanges.
Korean Language Education Clearninghouse (KLEC)
The Korean Language Education Clearinghouse was started in 2003 by Korean@Monash, funded by the Korea Foundation, to help share and distribute Korean language learning materials and information worldwide.

Chinese

Chinese

Chinese Language Teachers Association (CLTA)
The Chinese Language Teachers Association, Inc. (CLTA) is a professional organization devoted exclusively to the study of Chinese language, culture and pedagogy. Although approximately half of our membership is composed of specialists in Chinese language, literature, linguistics and culture teaching at colleges and universities throughout the world, we increasingly count among our membership teachers of Chinese at primary and secondary schools and Chinese community schools, as well as students of the language and other interested parties.

Online Dictionaries:

Chinese Characters Dictionary Web allows searching of multiple online dictionaries
MandarinSpot : search in Chinese, English and pinyin. Pronunciation can be shown as Hanyu Pinyin, Zhuyin Fuhao, etc.
MDBG Dictionary: search for single character and phrase in Chinese only
Nciku Online Dictionary : search in Chinese, English and pinyin
Yellow Bridge Chinese-English talking dictionary : search in Chinese, English and Pinyin; advanced search in radicals, handwriting recognition, etc.

Online Chinese Language Learning Resources:

Pronunciation/speaking:

Forvo an audio wiki for word pronunciations. Hosting hundreds of recordings of word pronunciations by native speakers.
Hello World provides games and activities to develop a foreign languages.
Open Culture : has an extensive list of free resources for learning Chinese.
Video Clips of survival Chinese : 20 real life videos for beginners
WordSteps is a resource for learning the vocabulary. Select the language then choose a set of vocabulary words in that language.

Reading/writing:

BBC Languages Chinese ：basic guide to pinyin and characters in multimedia format.
CAPL, Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon, is a project developed by Dr. Michael Shaughnessy at Washington & Jefferson College. The purpose of CAPL is to provide images that demonstrate the true meaning and intention of the words in a language.
Chinese character practice website : aimed at helping beginning Chinese learners see the linguistic features of characters.
Langhub.com Chinese Lessons Downloadable video lessons covering vocabulary and useful phrases.
Learning Chinese Online: collects different tools and websites for learning Chinese.
Online Chinese Tools: tools on learning and using Chinese language and culture.
Speak Chinese from China.org.cn : lessons on characters, idioms, allegories, poems, etc.
Read Chinese : developed at the National Foreign Language Center (NFLC) at the University of Maryland primarily to meet the needs of American high school students who want to learn to read Chinese and have already learned to recognize a few basic written characters
The Routledge Advanced Chinese Multimedia Course: Crossing Cultural Boundaries

Japanese

American Association of Teachers of Japanese (AATJ)
The American Association of Teachers of Japanese is a non-profit, non-political organization of individuals and institutions seeking to promote the study of Japanese language, linguistics, literature, culture, and pedagogy, at all levels of instruction.
The Japan Foundation and Learning Center in Los Angeles
This center is for in-service professional development for non-native, secondary school teachers of Japanese. The program is conducted based on the principles of proficiency-oriented instruction. Summer institutes, grants to schools, newsletter.
ALLEX
The Alliance for Language Learning and Educational Exchange was founded to encourage the establishment of high quality Chinese and Japanese language programs at post-secondary institutions in the United States and Canada. ALLEX works closely with Cornell University, Ohio State University, and Portland State University, through the ALLEX Asian Language Teacher Training Consortium, to implement high quality teacher training programs--the foundation for ALLEX's academic exchanges.
Learn Japanese
Dictionaries, grammar guides & language lessons, video & news resources, kanji & Kana learning tools.

East Asian Resources for Teachers: Language Teaching

General

Korean

Chinese

Japanese

Contact Us

Services for...