Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Asia for Educators
Provides information by topic and format; includes a featured resource on Contemporary Japan by Theodore Bestor and Helen Hardacre. (Columbia University)
A Country Study - China
This volume is one in a continuing series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army. It includes the country profile, the writings on history, physical environment, social system, education and culture, etc.
China WWW Virtual Library
An extensive site; scrolling to the bottom of the first page produces a table of contents organized by subject.
Six Paths to China
Six activities were created as models for ways to integrate the World Wide Web into classroom learning.
CIA Fact File on China & Hong Kong & Macau
Basic information about China, Hong Kong and Macau by CIA
Taiwan Online: Guide to Taiwan
Official government web site for information on Taiwan, including multi-media sites for Taiwanese culture and traditions.
Wu - Chinese Martial Arts
Graphical introduction to 4 different styles of Chinese martial arts, important figures and references.
The China Guide
360 degree panorama tours of Beijing and its surrounding places. Also Includes introductions to Shanghia, Xi’an and Harbin.
A modern-day journey on the Silk Road
Illustrated article by Pamela Logan, originally published in Asia Magazine, written for a general audience.
Human Rights in China
Human Rights in China is an international nongovernmental organization founded by Chinese scientists and scholars in March 1989. It monitors the implementation of international human rights standards in the People's Republic of China and carries out human rights advocacy and education among Chinese people inside and outside the country. Many Chinese language documents and links.
History of China
Based on the history portion of the Army Area Handbook on China, the site provides introductions to Chinese history from the earliest civilization to the modern time (1988), including bibliographies, maps, and pictures. (University of Maryland)
Condensed China: Chinese History for Beginners
Condensed China is an introduction to Chinese history. It exists to inform, enlighten and attract netizens interested in China. It is not a complete history of China. It is more like “Chinese History: the Cliff Notes version” or “Chinese History’s Greatest Hits.” than a full-fledged history.
UCSD Modern Chinese History
Modern Chinese History covers Qing Dynasty to contemporary China. It provides sections on reviews & essays; Cultural Revolution; sources; archives, bibliography and related web links.
History of Taiwan: A Taiwanese Perspective
An overview of important milestones of the history of Taiwan from the early 1600s to the present. Or go to the "Taiwan-400 Years of History and Outlook", written by Dr.Kiyoshi Ito, translated and edited by Walter Chen, or check out an excellent overview of historic documents, treaties, declarations, and communiqués which impacted Taiwan's history.
Excellent web site on the Cultural Revolution. A range of techniques and perspectives are used website to reflect on the origins and history of the Cultural Revolution (c.1964-1976). Multimedia section features some of the cultural 'red noise', including radio, songs, films, TV that created the unique atmosphere of the Cultural Revolution era. Images of the Cultural Revolution and of Mao during that period include a wide range of material such as posters, paintings, artwork, photographs and artifacts (including Mao buttons).
The Gate of Heavenly Peace
The Gate of Heavenly Peace documents the history of the 1989 movement and reflects the drama, tension, humor, absurdity, heroism, and many tragedies of the six weeks from April to June in 1989." Very useful, not only for its information on the film The Gate of Heavenly Peace (Tiananmen) made by Carma Hinton but also for numerous documents about the Beijing spring of 1989 and the symbolism of the Tiananmen Square.
English Language News from China