Newspapers in the Duke University Libraries

This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most Canadian newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s. Canadian Newsstream content is updated daily so researchers always have timely access to new information.

Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides global news and information content, including Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal.

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. Date coverage varies by title.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Dates vary depending on what archives are contributed by various Caribbean & U.S. libraries. (Not limited to Duke users.)

Informe contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish. Although the majority of content is in Spanish, some English articles are included. It is best to search using Spanish language.

A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level, offering deep contextualization of the subjects under discussion.

The LeRoy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive is an extensive resource file assembled by ANS over the course of two decades in support of its news gathering efforts about Africa-related issues and U. S. foreign policy towards Africa. The collection spans the years from approximately 1960 to 1995, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1978 through 1994. It includes many newspaper clippings, arranged by geographical subdivision or topic.

Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. Created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. The collection currently includes more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers (featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe). Date coverage varies by title.