This is the "Russia" page of the "Russian and East European Historical Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Russian and East European Historical Newspapers  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/historicalnewspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Russia Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bibliography

Gazety Rossii (1703 - 1917) -- searchable database, containing bibliographic descriptions of all the newspapers published on the territory of the Russian Empire (within its 1913 borders) in the Russian language, from 1703-1917 inclusively. Additionally the catalog includes newspapers published in foreign cities containing large populations of the Russian diaspora: Lviv, Chernovtsy, and Kharbin. Included also are newspapers published by military units. This new online resource should save researchers a significant amount of time in identifying newspaper titles that may be useful for their research.

 

Russian Historical Newspapers

Russia

Russian/NIS Universal Databases

Commercial service providing access to central and regional newspapers from Russia, Ukraine, Central Asia, Caucasus, and Baltics. Cross-searchable with "Current Digest of Post-Soviet Press," "Pravda," "Izvestiia," and "Literaturnaia gazeta"

Current Digest of Post-Soviet Press
The Current Digest of the (Post-)Soviet Press was founded in 1949. Presents weekly selections of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. Date Coverage: 1949-present

Pravda Digital Archive
The most widely read and referenced Russian-language news source from the Soviet era, converted from microfilm and made available online in full-text and full-image. Date Coverage: 1912-to date

Izvestiia Digital Archive
Full-text and full-image articles of the longest-running Russian newspapers; from 1917-1991 the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Coverage: 1917-present

Literaturnaia gazeta
Considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, this former organ of the Union of Soviet Writers remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia. Coverage: 1929-1941, 1944-present.

Старые газеты [Old newspapers].
Collection of digitized versions of a number of old newspapers from the Soviet Union and Imperial Russia. The newspapers digitized and mounted here deal with various aspects of the history of the country. Currently, coverage spans from 1912 through the Soviet period and ends in 1989. 

Старинные сибирские газеты - Электронный архив газет
Collection of Siberian newspapers from 1858-1945. Includes Сибирская газета (Sibirskaia Gazeta), Сибирская жизнь, Советская Сибирь, Томские губернские ведомости (1858-1910), and Томский листок. From the Novosibirsk State Regional Scientific Library (Новосибирской областной научной библиотеки).

Казанская периодическая печать XIX-XX вв.
Project of Kazan State University to digitize Kazan periodical press of the 19th-20th centuries. Includes «Казанские известия» (1811-1820), one of Russia's first provincial newspapers.

Olonetskiie Gubernskiie Vedomosti (1838-1917)
Petrozavodsk State University's project to digitalize and publish the entire collection of one of Russia's first provincial newspapers in free access on the Web.

Татарская периодическая печать 1905-1917 гг.
Project of Kazan State University to digitize important Tatar periodicals from 1905-1917.

Уральские газеты начала 20 века
Full text database of articles from newspapers of the Ural region (1919). Selected titles are also available as page images from the Chelyabinsk Regional Universal Scientific Library. The site also includes «Власть народа» (1918). Additional resources are available on CD-ROM "Урал на изломе" (The Urals at the Crossroads). [*note - pages images on Web version are too small to read. For best results, use a zoomable image viewer]

«Ведомости» (Vedmosti)

Digital images of the "first Russian printed newspaper" (1702-1727). From the Russian National Library.

Электронная библиотека современной городской прессы Санкт-Петербурга
Proposed project to capture contemporary urban press of Saint Petersburg.

Zhurnaly M. i F. Dostoevskikh
Full-text of 3 periodicals put out in the 19th-century by the Dostoevsky brothers: Vremia (1861-3), Epokha (1864-5), and Grazhdanin (1873-4)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip